Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-06 - 7:11 a.m.

off track

So busy in the last 2 weeks I haven't even been able to check email, let alone update here.

Where to start? Well, let's start with the Tuesday after Memorial Day. I had the day off. Yes - the screwed up schedule I am working had me off that day, but I had to work on Memorial Day. I'm not complaining - a day off is a day off, but Amanda had Monday off, then I'm off Tuesday while she's at work.... things could've been worse though. Around noon I heard a ruckus (I've always wanted to use that word) and when I went to find out what was going on, I found one of the dogs with a baby bluejay in her mouth. It was still alive. I am a bad person - I'll just say that from the beginning and beat you to it. I'm a bad person because I didn't take the bird to the vet. I didn't call the vet. I didn't even take the dog to the vet to make sure she didn't contract any diseases. I went back into the house, brought the dogs with me, and layed on the couch watching... hmmm....I can't even remember what I was watching....but it was something on TV. Wait - I remember now. The X-Files movie. Yep. The X-Files movie was more important to me than the life of a helpless BABY bird.

I eventually fell asleep and when I woke, not only had I missed the end of the movie but I had a dead baby bird in my backyard. I'm bad.

The past few days have been very trying for me. I work in the IT department of a national company where no one in the company except the three of us in IT know anything about computers. Or copiers. Or fax machines. Or printers. Or cell phones. Or pagers. All of these things we are responsible for. If anything goes wrong (read "if anything happens outside of exactly what someone wants to happen with a particular piece of equipment") it constitutes an immediate and life-threatening emergency. This is the way we operate. Yesterday, for example, I actually had someone hang out in my office for approximately 4 hours while I formatted his machine, reloaded all software and reconfigured all the particular parameters of the proprietary software we use. We did this simply because his revision of Windows 98 would not allow the computer to be placed on Stand-By when the screen was shut. Stand-by. It's an important thing. Apparently. For some reason. Meanwhile I have better things to do than worry about someone else's "emergency". The problem is that when you're trying to explain things to a dumbass, it's difficult to explain exactly why their perceived problem does not constitute an emergency.

Before anyone gets the impression that I hate my job - I don't. In fact I'm extremely happy just to be employed. And not every user here is a dumbass. But we definitely have our share.

So that's it. The busy, crazy last few weeks have been that way mainly due to work. But it's paying the bills.

The next entry won't be such a bitch-session, I promise.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!