Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-23 - 9:01 a.m.

hooky

Played hooky from work yesterday. I woke up and decided that I just didn't feel like being at work, so I called and told my boss I was sick. So since Amanda still has 3 weeks left in her vacation we spent the day together. It was really nice - although there was this huge cloud of guilt looming over me for most of the day.

We went to spend a gift certificate that her work had given her. It was for a plant nursery.... fifty bucks. Not bad, huh? We bought a jasmine plant that goes indoors in the hopes of making our home smell like something other than cat shit. Three cats. I only have one nose. The odds are against me. We also bought a ficus tree with a braided trunk. Again with the cats.... all we have to do is keep them from batting at it, peeing in it, chewing it or completely tipping it over. The last thing we bought is some type of low light plant to keep in our bedroom. This is in an attempt to keep the "feng shui" (sp?) factor in check. Our friends rearranged our bedroom and living room to be more receptive to the flow of energy or some shit like that. I like it, don't get me wrong. But there's no noticeable or tangible proof that anything has really changed except for the arrangement of the furniture.

We also made our second batch of homemade pasta. There are few things as good as homemade pasta. Last week Amanda surprised me with a pasta maker - mainly because I had seen one on TV and decided we needed one and that it would be cool to make our own pasta. It works really well, and it's very easy to do. Time consuming, but easy. Flour, eggs, salt and olive oil. And then you can add black pepper, spinach, tomotatoes or anything you can think of to add flavor. We made a shit load of fetuccini. Pierogies are next. Maybe tortellini, if we're feeling lucky. Amanda even made homemade sauce. Our house smelled great that day.

In other news, on Sunday we drove about two hours away just to have lunch. At a complete dive of a burger joint in a college town. It was great. And college students haven't changed much since I was one. We went with a group of friends, it was a great day. It probably helped me skip work yesterday. You know, being with friends, going to a college town, getting that "I just don't want to have to do anything" feeling. While we were there I was approached by a homeless man who asked me for 30 cents. Where'd he pick that number from? Random.

Meanwhile on the job search topic - nothing. It's getting depressing. I'm a likeable person, with a master's degree, I know a bunch of stuff and can perform for the right amount of money. Why does no one want to hire me? Attention all employers: you suck. You need to hire me and pay me a lot of money. And give me lots of time off. And let me work from home if I want. And... oh, nevermind. No one's listening anyway.

Well, I guess the fact that I'm at work right now (having missed yesterday) means that I should get to it.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!