Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-08 - 12:07 p.m.

the move

We're moving. The office, that is. I think I've mentioned this previously. It is that very same subject that led to a "move meeting" that I've just gotten out of. A whole meeting devoted to telling us that we have each been assigned to a 'sector', and each sector has a color, and each office and cube in the new building has a number within its colored sector. And so for at least twenty minutes we went over the fact that if you have been assigned to the purple sector, you need to make sure you have purple stickers to put on your stuff. Sounds simple enough to me. Simple enough to only have to last 2 and not 20 minutes. The remainder of the meeting time was taken up by such things as "don't steal the plastic moving crates". Damn, I bet there's a good market for those too. And now my plans have been foiled.

I am still in the process of packing all my stuff. To elaborate, "in the process of" means that half my shit is here and half at the new building. So now when someone comes here and I don't have what I need it's frustrating. I can't possibly carry all my stuff with me - there's bound to be an "in-between" stage to this whole cluster. So by next week I should be all moved in and wondering how I lost this and lost that in the move.

On the homefront... the bathroom is still a wreck. All I could manage to do last night was sand the entire shower/toilet area. By the way, all the fun I had slopping the mud on the wall proved to be a costly error. I had to sand so hard that I ripped two industrial-strength sand paper pads in half. And mud-dust got EVERYWHERE. I got in bed last night and picked up a book I'm reading (it's physics - non-fiction, boring to all but me) and it was covered in dust. I could have written my name in dust on the cover. And the book was practically the farthest (is that a word?) thing from where I was sanding. I really need to prime the entire bathroom tonight. And right now I feel like doing just that. But just wait until 6 hours from now. When I'm home. And faced with the daunting challenge that seems so simple now.

And Amanda is still gone. Oh, wait... it's only been two days. She went to Chicago on Tuesday. It's weird coming home to an empty house. Going to bed alone. Waking up alone.... I hardly slept Tuesday night. I kept waking up and thinking something was wrong. Worried about her trip, worried that she won't come back (irrational fear, slightly supported by all the 9/11 hype that is mounting again), jealous that I didn't get to go. And frankly pissed off that the cat box has to be emptied and I have to do it. OK so this last one has nothing to do with anything, but those damn cats sure do manufacture a load of waste. I'm going to try to teach them to use the toilet, and how to flush....

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!