Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-22 - 9:07 a.m.

first ride

Went for my first ride in 6 years last night. It felt good. The "new" bike is just like it used to be, sqeaky brakes and all. Just the back brakes though, not a big deal.

Amy went with me. She's got more of a hybrid bike, built for either on or off road. Once we got out there, it was a good feeling. I sprinted ahead a few times, but figured I should take it easy the first couple of times out. I got winded once or twice, and my legs felt like they would burst at one point.

The path we rode on is a public path where everyone from avid cyclists to housewives tries to get some exercise in. Interesting people. One woman had a twin baby stroller with, instead of babies, her two little kick dogs in it. I call them kick dogs because they're the perfect size to practice punting. We got to the end of the trail and there's a new subdivision going in. We decided to check it out. I drove around a bit, and Amy rested on the side of the road. As I was returning to her, some guy pulls up in a maroon minivan. He starts asking us how to get back to the highway, so we tell him. Then he says he's trying to get home, but the city he lives in is the opposite direction from the highway. He couldn't understand why we were giving him two sets of directions. He had either been drinking a shit load, or he was mentally unstable. He finally got frustrated and drove off. As he did, I saw his license plate.... for the county we live in. The one we were riding our bikes in. How the hell do you get lost in your own county?

This morning my ass hurts.

Small seat.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!