Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-10 - 12:33 p.m.

movie time

Being sick for the past few days, all I've wanted to do is watch movies. Not TV, but movies. I figure that way when I fall asleep due to the drugs, all I have to do is rewind.

I watched "The Last Don", and "The Last Don II" the other day. It was an all day event - those are long damn movies. I thought they were pretty good though, and as with any mob movie there's no real plot so you can leave the room for a while then come back and you haven't lost anything. It's sort of the same thing as watching baseball on TV. All you really need to do is check in on it every now and then. You can pretty much figure how each will go, it's just seeing how they get there.

Then there was "The Others" with Nicole Kidman. That's the last time I believe the movie rental girl. She said it was a great movie. It was OK, not great. I had it figured out from the start, minus some of the details. I think I have discovered that I'm not a Nicole Kidman fan.

"Dragonfly" with Kevin "I have no talent" Costner. The ONLY reason I rented this movie is because I vaguely remembered wanting to see it when I first saw the previews in the theater. I remember thinking it would have to be a rental. No way would I pay $10 to go see ANY movie with Costner in it. I have to say it was better than I thought it would be. I think if they had cast someone else it could have done much more at the box office.

"From Hell" with Johnny Depp and Hagrid (Robbie Coltrane) of Harry Potter. I rented this because I could. I happen to be a Depp fan. Yep - there, I said it. Go ahead and laugh. It could be worse.... This was weird. It jumped around a lot and I figured out that Heather Graham is in the same boat with Nicole Kidman. They both suck. But the movie was exactly what I expected it to be - I'm glad I only paid $3 for it.

Also - "High Crimes" with Ashley Judd (The only good Judd there is) and Morgan Freeman. This one was just OK too. I really think Judd and Freeman are great together on screen. I just need them to get offered a better movie to do next time.

Oh yeah, then there's been work. Same story - no need to go into it. I NEED A NEW JOB!!

** Forgot to add the movie "Manhunter" from 1986. It's the first in the Silence of the Lambs series, and has William Peterson of CSI fame (?) as the investigator. While very poorly acted (the cop protecting Peterson's wife "Ma'am, please step back in the house" - he gave everything he had to that one line) and filmed, I liked the movie for the story. It was interesting to see the portrayal of Hannibal the Cannibal. Nothing beats Jodie Foster, though.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!