Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-23 - 3:46 p.m.

super secret sick day

It's Monday.

I feel robbed of my weekend.

Like I knew I would.

Let's see... Saturday actually wasn't that bad. The only thing that pissed me off more than having to come in to do some tedious data entry work was that I was told when I could go to lunch. (They typically provide lunch for employees when there is "extra" work involved, either during the week or on the weekends. It's typically nasty food, but it is free. My PB&J threshhold is almost at the maximum.) So I see the guy across the hall from me eating and I go to my boss to let him know that's what I'll be doing. He says, "Nope". Thinking he's kidding, I laugh and say, "Are you serious?" He says that the upper management does not want us to go to lunch until we're finished with the work we've started. Well, I was finished. What he meant was, I had to wait for all the dumb-ass high school dropouts to finish the work they had before "we" could go to lunch. All we were doing was some freaking data entry. You see a number on a printout, you enter the same number into the computer. They apparently thought this was too complicated and needed further instruction.

I learned a new word. Craptastic. I'm not certain how it is to be used, but I like it. I am going to try to work it into a sentence one day....

So I went home and took a nap. We had friends over that night. Ate dinner. Played a card game where we bet pennies. Drank some. Fun was had by all. Needless to say (I hate that phrase)we did not go to church the next day. We did, however, find a way to go out and spend some money. I got new bike gloves. They're nice. I am looking for a new seat. They've made amazing advances in seats for road bikes since I bought mine. I'm sick of feeling like I'm still on the bike for 10 hours after I get off it. Now that I've found some good under gear to keep "the boys" in one place, I need a new seat.

This all brings me back to Monday - today. My manager took me and a co-worker to lunch. First time in a year I've been to lunch with him. He asked me how things were going and I said "crappy". He inquired, and with little prodding I told him how unhappy I was. It didn't get me anywhere, just the same old "I know how you feel. I used to have your position. Things will get better." shit he's been feeding me since I started here. The only motivation I have right now is that I am planning a sick day tomorrow. Yup, planning. Amanda has procured a list of temp agencies and has also been kind enough to sign me up with 3 or 4 different online job search agencies.

It's coming soon.

The end of my IT career. I think I need to get back into healthcare - put the degree to work, do some good in the world. OK - there's that fucked up idealism again. Nothing but trouble.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!