Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-16 - 11:31 a.m.

rain drops keep fallin

I just had a talk with my manager. It seems the important people (vp's, managers, etc) are having a meeting and my name came up. They began talking about the level of service offered to the salesreps and decided it's not sufficient. This pisses me off like nothing else. First and foremost is the fact that I am the only one here doing what I do. In other divisions of our company of comparable size and volume, there are at least four people doing my job. AND they have a fifth person who manages all of them. What the fuck do they expect?

I went to see a customer on Monday. I left the office at 2:30 and put my voicemail greeting on the message that says I'm out of the office on business. Al (the computer thief) called the office "all day long" and finally ended up speaking with someone else, whom he told "Joshua won't answer his phone". Listen to the fucking greeting asshole. It tells you I'm not here, and you know my cell number.

It's because of this type of situation that I continue to be accussed of being "unresponsive". The upper crust of the office thinks I shouldn't be away from the building so much. I bet if I stopped going on customer calls, they'd complain about me being here all the time when I could be out seeing customers. I feel like it's a lose-lose situation.

But I actually like what I do. It's just that I don't like having to deal with people. I'm not sure why I constantly find myself in situations where I have to talk to people - especially in the jobs that I get. I don't really like having to talk to people. I just want to find something where I can come in, be antisocial, get my job done and go home. I don't like dealing with customers who have been "promised" something by a salesrep, only to have me tell them it's not possible. Then I look like the bad guy. I'm the asshole who has cramped their style.

Meanwhile, it continues to rain and be cold. I need it to rain, or be cold. I like them independent of each other. It's the combo that kills me. And all the rain has managed to point out the fact that we have a leak in our roof. That's going to be expensive to fix. I should have known something was going to break soon. Amanda and I have started talking about the possibility of getting DSL or cable, instead of the slow-ass dial up we currently have. When we talk about stuff like this, something inevitably happens to point out the fact that not only do we not have money, but now we have another unexpected expense.

Does it end?

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!