Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-24 - 8:22 a.m.

good day, for once

I'm still not quite sure what happened yesterday. It seems I had a good day.... for the first time in a while. I got lots of phone calls, had my lunch interrupted 3 or 4 times, had a line of people waiting to get into my office to talk to me, and my email address was given to a customer. But it was still a good day. All these things are normal, but still they usually bother me and I end up getting pissed off about them. Yesterday was different though - and I'm not sure why. I actually left here (late) thinking I had done a good job and gotten lots of issues resolved and helped people. The stress and idiocy (I think I just made up a word) did not follow me out the door. What's sad is that I kept looking for it to start bothering me. All day. And it wasn't until I got home and talked with my sister-in-law that I realized I had actually had a good day.

When I got home last night I remembered that I have resolved to not speak to the cats. With one exception: the only thing I'm going to say is "Where's my pen?" And until they give it back, I'm not speaking to them. I know - sounds childish - and it is. But they're pissing me off. They only have free reign over the entire middle level of the house, plus the stairs and one bedroom upstairs. Everything else is closed to them. It's not like there are a thousand places for them to have hidden my pen and Amanda's gum. There is a part of me that thinks it will be hilarious when we go to clean the litter box and find not only a pen and some gum, but other things we may not have noticed missing. I think they do it on purpose. It's like they plot all day long what they're going to do and then snicker about it when we're not looking. Damn cats.

Meanwhile I'm getting tired of people who think they're the only ones who need to get somewhere in morning or afternoon rush hour. To the guy who almost rear-ended me this morning: The fact that you were going 70 in a 40 and swerved out of your lane just as I was pulling on to the road does not mean that you can flash your lights and crawl in my ass - all pissed off because you thought you were going to get further than you did. You know where the highway is and you know where the on ramp starts - go fuck yourself.

It just ocurred to me that one reason I have felt better in the last few days is that I have actually been working out. I haven't been able to ride my bike in a while because of rain or laziness. But I have found that going home, sitting down and watching TV saps all the energy from my body. I know - not news to anyone, but it continues to amaze me. The more I work out the more energy I have. I'm beginning to sound like an infomercial.

I'm also looking forward to next week. I just got two days off. I have a week I must take before the end of the year, so I decided that next Thursday and Friday would be a good start. I've got nothing planned, except going to the dealership to get my sunroof fixed. It's only been broken for three months and they keep promising they're going to call me when it gets in. Hope it's here by the end of next week.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!