Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-25 - 8:55 a.m.

my personality flaw

Today I am going to try to explore some parts of my personality that always seem to cause me problems. I would call them "flaws" if I weren't so certain that they're not.

I can't stand stupid people. There. I said it. I'm sure that I've said it before, but it's very relevant and a current issue. I know it's not a personality flaw of mine, because I'm not stupid. It's the stupid people that have the problem.

Along these lines, I had what I would call an amusing phone call yesterday. This guy is not so much stupid as he is oblivious - to everything. He is also very hyperactive and every little thing gets to him and he explodes it into an "emergency". He left me a voicemail saying there was something wrong with the keyboard on his laptop.

"I promise I haven't done anything to it. It just doesn't work right anymore. I haven't dropped it or spilled anything on it, but it just started acting strange. Sometimes when I go to type a letter on the keyboard, a number appears on the screen. It doesn't happen with all the keys, just with a few of them."

What's funny is:

1. The poor man just doesn't realize his numlock key is the solution to this severe and critical problem.

2. He thinks I need to replace the keyboard, or potentially the entire system because of this problem.

I'm still not sure why people don't realize it's just a machine. It's reacting to some type of input from you. It is not a life form, it does not think on its own, it does not make decisions on how to behave.

And I hate the stupid bitch in the dietary department of this nursing home that I'm going to see AGAIN today. I went out there on Monday to fix the problem she was having with her desktop system. I was only there an hour, but every fucking time she left the office and came back in she would say, "Oh, my. You're still here..." or she'd say, "Wow - it's still not working, huh?" And each time all I wanted to say was, "I'm not a fucking magician. These things take time, and I can't help the fact that you're stupid and feel the need to make some fucking smug comment every time you walk in here. Just shut the fuck up and let me do my job."

My mistake was leaving her without watching the computer finish processing. I really just wanted to get home. It was 3 o'clock, rush hour was about to begin, and I was an hour from my house. So I left. I told her what to expect with the machine, and that once it finished she should do A, B and C with it. Well - she apparently doesn't know her ABC's from her ass because she promptly went and screwed the entire thing up. Then she called her rep and told him I didn't fix it. So I have to go out there again today. Friday - the worst possible day for traffic. And it just started raining. Really I don't mind the fact that she's stupid so much as I mind the fact that she blamed me for the problem. I did everything I was supposed to do - she thought she knew better than me and went and made changes she wasn't supposed to make. It's not my fault.

And to top things off - people like her get to have kids. She's allowed to reproduce, while Amanda and I are stuck thinking maybe we have some type of problem because she's not pregnant yet. As a male - this hurts my ego. I know what to do to make a baby. I have even learned - with Amanda's help - when is the best time to make the baby. We've read the books, she's asked her doctor, we've done the deed (that's not supposed to sound so cold). Still nothing. While most men bitch about their wife having her period because she turns into a raving lunatic (remember: I said "most men"), I'm getting upset because it means there's no baby. And why is my dumbass, lisping boss and his trophy wife allowed to have two offspring? Why do they get to have kids they OBVIOUSLY didn't want; kids that going around maliciously attacking other kids, and we can't even get pregnant?

Alright - back to the dumb people. The reason I think it really is a problem is that once I have determined that you are stupid, there's really no chance left for you. That's it. Over and done with. You're stupid and I'm moving on. I know lots of people (Amanda for one) who make this sort of determination, but later change their mind or their perception of a person. Or at the very least, continue to talk with them and act like nothing's wrong. Me? I don't even want to be around the person. That's the flaw. I also know lots of people who are very good at treating everyone the same way, but then you get them alone and all they can do is talk about what a dumbass so-and-so is. Is that better or worse? At least they don't make it obvious to the person - but how the hell do they keep from shouting "Hey! You're a dumbass!"???

Three more work days until I get some vacation.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!