Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-21 - 9:01 a.m.

learn to fly

My lack of any sense of responsibility has now been reinforced. I narrowly escaped having to do my presentation and, no one said a word.

Then on Sunday evening, some friends came in to town from California. They're on their way to Princeton. We were really hoping they'd stop here on the way, but we never truly made plans. Only the "hey-stop-here-on-the-way-unless-it-doesn't-work-out" type of thing. Luckily they called us when they were only 2 hours away and said, "Yes! We're coming!!" We were ecstatic. These are some really cool people and we were just at their wedding less than a year ago. Less than a year ago I was ready to move to California. I told Amanda that we could just have someone sell the house for us and pack all of our stuff and send it out there. It's a beautiful place.

So I did what anyone would do... I got up Monday morning and called in sick. I AM A SLACKER. But we had a great time, just hanging out, so it was worth it. But my slack attitude is going to get me into trouble one of these days. Leaving early Friday, taking Monday off. Truly the only reason I showed up today is that I have to go to a customer to do a training on our website. Then I get to go home early again. Training at 2 o'clock, out of there by three. Napping on my couch by 3:30. That's the plan.

It sounds great, but it reminds me how lazy I've gotten. I used to be motivated and "get to work early", "stay late", "hope to get ahead and make lots of money". Now - it doesn't matter so much. I still get here early - sometimes an hour earlier than I need to be. But that's mostly to avoid crappy traffic. I've become an expert at shutting down my machine and packing up so that I hit the door at exactly 5 o'clock. It sometimes irks me that I don't actually leave the parking lot until 5:05. I'm working on it. Why am I so lazy?

One thing that always makes me feel better is to send out resumes and look at different job postings. I look at these job descriptions and think how great these positions sound. I know a job description rarely matches the actual job requirements in day-to-day activities, but they sound so cool! I spent some of the meeting time on Friday sending out resumes. It made me feel better. Made me feel like there's still some hope of finding that better job. Working for a company I like. Doing something I like. Learning something daily. But mainly: not having to deal with whiny salespeople. The jobs are out there. The ones that are not only close(r) to my house, but that pay more and have something to do with my degree, and would stimulate my motivation factor somewhat. The problem is: no one is hiring. And no one wants me unless I have 20 years of experience doing exactly what their job description says.

Why didn't I go to medical school?

That used to be the plan....

Check it out... "Your baby's about the size of an avocado now, but in the next three weeks he'll go through a tremendous growth spurt � doubling his weight and adding inches to his length. In the meantime, he'll be playing with his umbilical cord and practicing breathing by inhaling and exhaling amniotic fluid through his lungs. You're going through a bit of a growth spurt yourself. Your uterus has expanded so much that the ligaments in your abdomen are stretching to make room for it. If you feel any twinges of pain now, that's why."

My baby is the size of an avacado.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!