Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-24 - 2:57 p.m.

i see dead people

Well - it's been another sad-news week here at work. Seems this may not be the "healthiest" place to work after all.

Today there was a funeral service held for a co-workers' baby who had complications since before birth. The baby was steadily losing his battle with a lung abnormality since he was born about a month ago.

Yesterday one of our credit managers had to leave the office suddenly when she got news that her 3 week old grandchild had been rushed to the emergency room when he stopped breathing. They had the child on a respirator for several hours but with no results, and made the decision to disconnect it. There had been extensive brain damage caused by the amount of time the brain was without oxygen.

Also yesterday, one of our sales managers was rushed to the hospital due to some heart problems. He lived through the ordeal, but still: that's a 1 out of three average. That sucks.

So all morning I was thinking to myself, "Hey - it's really quiet around here today. That's odd." And then it finally occurred to me - this morning was that baby funeral. How depressing.

I hate telling Amanda about these things, but it's part of my daily experience (sadly enough) and I want so badly to share my day with her when I get home. It's gotten a bit ridiculous though, because when I say to her, "Hey - guess what happened today?" her immediate response is, "Who died?" The worst part is, I usually have an answer for her, and it's not "no one".

On a different note, we spent some quality time rearranging the kitchen. It feels good to have it more organized space in there. This is partially in preparation for the baby, partially to give me something to do because I will start to worry if I have too much time on my hands and don't feel productive. Let me tell ya, if you have crisco that's been opened and stuck in a cabinet for over a year, that shit is nasty. Get rid of it. We ended up with three kitchen sized garbage bags full of, well, garbage. It's amazing the amount of crap we keep around. Most of it is my fault - I can't stand to throw things away. I always think I may find a use for it someday. But this doesn't explain things like the electric bills I still have from over six years ago when I still lived in Florida. Why do I have them? I don't know. Why did I keep them in the first place? I don't know. But I do know one thing: I haen't found a use for them yet.

Funny thing happened this morning. I left the house with my hair still wet, and stopped to get gas on my way to work. At 6:30 this morning the temperature was 10, with a wind chill of 0 to -10. It was cold. I pumped my gas, paid and got back in my car. That's when I noticed the water in my hair had frozen. It was sorta like one of those little lego men with interchangeable hats. Only it was hair.

I have no real reason for talking about that - I guess I just didn't want this to be such a depressing entry.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!