Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-12 - 9:04 a.m.

blood and tears

I'm not sure where to begin. It's been a while since I last updated, and lots has happened.

Let's start here. I am in the middle of my last week at my current job. Time has never passed so slowly. I felt like I had already been here a week by 10:30 am this past Monday. Every day is like that. I look at the clock, do some work for what seems like hours, look at the clock again - and only 30 minutes has passed. The thing that sucks is that next week is going to fly by. I have lots planned for my time off inbetween jobs, but I know it won't all get accomplished.

One thing that definitely needs to get done is the painting for the baby's room. We've picked the colors, now all we have to do is go buy it. Then next week I can get to painting. It's a small room, so it shouldn't take long.

I also need to spend some quality time with our filing cabinet. We try to be organized and file things (taxes, receipts, important papers, etc.) but our main problem is this: we have a filing cabinet, and then on a completely different floor of the house we have stacks and stacks of stuff that needs to be filed. They've never met. I plan to introduce them.

I also plan to do as little driving as possible while I'm off. This is largely due to the fact that I got my first ticket ever while driving to my new employee health evaluation yesterday. It wasn't as bad of an experience as I thought it would be. He (the officer) wasn't very nice and was not at all interested in talking to me.

"Give me your license."

"Here's your court date. There's a number on the back if you just want to pay the fine."

That's about all he said to me. Except the part about clocking me at 78 in a 55. It sucks getting a ticket. And I imagine it's going to be expensive too.

I did get to my appointment on time. It's amazing: you can get places on time, without speeding! It's a concept I'm not very good with yet, but I tried it (after getting pulled over) and it really does work. The health screening wasn't so bad... until they told me they'd need blood. I'm not so good with the drawing blood thing. I used to be great about it until some idiot stuck the needle into a nerve by accident and I felt the worst pain I've ever felt. From there on out it's been: show me a needle, stick it in my arm, watch me pass out. It's embarassing to go for blood work to get a marriage license and pass out in front of your wife-to-be. Anyhow - I got to the lab, the nurse took my blood and I barely felt anything. It was amazing. No passing out. No feeling lightheaded. Nothing. I told her she was a great nurse and deserved a raise - it may be going a bit far, but I was really relieved.

Meanwhile, back to the fact that it's my last week here. I walked into my managers office on Monday, sat down and said,

"I am completely unmotivated. Just wanted to let you know."

Then I got up and walked out. He didn't say anything. It felt good.

I can't help it. I'm not mad or feeling like I want to screw the company. I just want to move on. I quit already - and now it's time to go ahead a leave... get on with things.

A special note: I want to say "thanks" to Mid. We'll miss you around here, really. Don't be a stranger though, let me hear from you now and again...

That's all for now.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!