Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-27 - 7:32 a.m.

movies and parenting

Wow, I couldn't remember what a three day weekend was like. At my last company I only got christmas day and thanksgiving day off. Plus I had to work some weekends. I feel like I've been gone a week.

It was a good weekend all around. Except for the $430 I had to spend on new tires. That blew.

We returned lots of things to the baby store and got credit for them. Then we spent all of the credit plus thirty more dollars getting all kinds of new stuff. The baby store is overwhelming. There's too much to see and too much to think about. But there are all kinds of cool toys - stuff that enhances my excitement about the child who is soon to be here. Going there (and other places for that matter) gives Amanda and I an opportunity to evaluate different parenting styles. I have one thing to say: To the woman at blockbuster - if you insist on naming your son "Chaz" and taking him and his friends to blockbuster to find playstation games at the age of 5 or 6, you have to assume they are going to get excited and overwhelmed by all the choices. You have to assume they will pick out one game, then see another they might want more. You have to assume it's going to be a tough decision for them. So don't yell at them and act like they're the worst kids in the world when you're ready to go and they just can't decide which game to take home.

And one day when you're the one in diapers, Chaz may get impatient with you and you'll wonder where you went wrong and maybe, just maybe, he'll say, "Remember how you couldn't let us stay and decide which game to get? Maybe I'm impatient because of that."

OK, maybe a bit drastic... but I think you get the point. Calm down. They were good kids. They weren't bothering anyone, they were just faced with the most difficult decision a 5 year old boy has to make. Let him enjoy that.

So this brings me to the movies we watched. We saw "Adaptation" on Saturday night. Chris Cooper (who I have discovered has been in every movie ever made, it seems), Meryl Streep, Nicolas Cage. Good cast, good movie. I have to say that I am nothing but impressed by Chris Cooper - he's been incredible in everything I seen him in. And Nicolas Cage (who plays twins in the movie) was even good. I had begun to lose hope for him before I saw this, but he did a good job. Highly recommended. It's guaranteed to have something you didn't see coming. It's also incredibly realistic - you could definitely see that all this could really happen the way it's portrayed.

Sunday night we watched "Catch Me If You Can". I know, I know. I now have to admit that I purposely watched a movie starring "Leo". My stomach actually turned when I first saw the previews for this movie a few months back. I was torn because it's Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg and that made me really want to see it. The plot seemed interesting, especially being based on a true story. Then there he was. Taunting me almost. "Ha Ha, I'm finally in a movie you want to see..." Well - I must say I was impressed. Little Leo did a great job. I'm by no means a Leo fan now, but he's redeemed himself a bit by doing this movie, and doing such a good job. I think Amanda said it best - "You can't be in a Spielberg movie which also stars Tom Hanks and not do a good job - they won't let you." I think she's right - although there is that piece of shit "AI" that Spielberg came up with... I guess it was a bad month for him.

The third movie went rented (they were having a special, what can I say) we haven't really watched yet. It's called "Thirteen Conversations About One Thing". I'm not sure what the "one thing" is yet. We actually stopped the movie last night to pay bills. Does that say something about a movie?

"Hey, remember you've got those bills to pay. You need to get them in the mail tomorrow."

"Oh, right. I almost forgot. Well, OK then - let's do that now."

We made it through the first 48 minutes. I'm sure it will get interesting at some point, we just have to not have bills to pay during our next attempt to watch. It does have John Turturro in it - he's amazing. He's not been in too many scenes in the first 48 minutes, however. It's been a lot of Matthew McConaughey looking pensive and trying to "emote" or something.

And that brings me to today. Here I sit. At my desk. I have literally a ton of work to do. I was quite motivated yesterday... where has it gone?

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!