Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-06 - 9:49 a.m.

sweet home not alabama

I'm back.

Returned from KC last night and back in the office this morning, ready to work. After I get a nap.

I thought you were supposed to sleep better in your own bed after you'd been on a trip somewhere. I guess someone forgot to tell my head that, it's throbbing incessantly. Starbucks to the rescue - best headache medicine ever even if it is overpriced.

My trip was nice - the plane ride ended up being not so bad and I may even be back to liking air travel again. On the drive from the airport to the hotel I saw a cool little music store. I decided to walk to it (I didn't rent a car) once I got situated in the hotel. It was a great place, filled with every type of music, lots of posters and records... you know, vinyl. Most of the records were $1.00. It was awesome. The only problem was they closed at 7 pm. Well, the whole city basically closes at 7 pm, or thereabouts. There's a few places that stay open later, but not too many. And most of them were in "the plaza". It's a posh, upper-class collection of restaurants and retail stores. Apparently it's "the place to go". The emphasis here is on the singular "place". In the mood for a movie? Go to the plaza. Hungry? Plaza. Want to buy something overpriced that will help elevate or maintain your status? Plaza.

And two of the people in the class were just dying to go there. They were typical "look at me in my mercedes" and "please be impressed by what I have" people. Oops, I made a mistake. It's apparently better to refer to it as your "benz". These two were the worst part of the trip. One of them refused to walk around her hotel room without shoes on, got upset and announced that her "whole day was ruined" when she spilled a nickel-size drop of coffee on her shirt, and kept telling the instructor that the particular lesson we were learning had nothing to do with her because she "had people that did that for her".

I think she is the personification of High Maintenance.

She's also the one who made fun of me because I only had a backpack. That was my "luggage". She had three pieces of luggage, plus her purse and a tote bag. We were only there for three days. Am I missing something?

To get some revenge on them I rearranged things in the shared database we were working on in the class. That way when the instructor asked them to do something to show they understood, I'd make a change which affected the entire database and it would look like they did things wrong. I know, how very 6th grade of me. But I was bored sometimes - I already knew about changing security settings and rearranging menus. So I did... change and rearrange. It was fun...

The best part of the trip was returning home. I missed my bed, my dogs, and most of all Amanda. I knew nothing was going to happen while I was gone, but with 4 weeks left in the pregnancy I just didn't feel right about leaving her alone. Everything was fine though, wife and dogs both happy to have me back. Count me lucky.

Maybe I'll have more to write once I catch up to my own time zone again.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!