Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-09 - 6:33 p.m.

back to work

Well it's back to work tomorrow for me. I feel incredibly lucky to have gotten a week off to spend with Amanda and our new son. Being so new to the company, I'm not eligible for vacation until September (6 month waiting period - I could buy a gun quicker than that... scary, huh?) - but my boss is highly understanding and managed to let me have the time anyway.

It's been absolutely incredible. I feel tremendously different today than I did one week ago, the day he was born. I'm much more comfortable with him; handling him, changing him, knowing his different cries and other assorted noises. It's still a bit odd to have him in the house with us though - he was just an abstract idea to me for nine months. I would come home from work and talk to Amanda's uterus - Yes, that was strange at first, but it became something I looked forward to. It's really difficult to stay stressed about your day when you're trying to say "hello" to your unborn child...

We took him to the pediatrician on Monday. She was great, the visit was not so great. I won't go into detail about the visit and why it wasn't so great, because it really doesn't matter anymore. Nothing happened that wasn't fixable (yes- it's a word. I know because I used it in a sentence) and we're all fine now. The doctor as I said was great. She's young and has enormous energy and what seems to be a great passion for her job. It puts me at ease and I trust her more than I thought I would. The only thing she said was that he's a bit jaundiced - nothing to worry about, and nothing a few feedings in the sunlight won't fix. He was weighed at the hospital on Saturday before we left, and on Monday at the pediatrician's office he had gained 0.5lbs already. That's pretty good.

Today my parents left to go back home. It gave Amanda and I some time to spend with each other and the newest member of our family (his name is Zane, by the way - it just occured to me I haven't yet written his name in this entry) and get to know him in a less hectic setting. We did nothing all day and it has been terrific. I love to see Amanda holding him - she looks so natural and like she has known nothing else than being a great mother. I have lots to learn from her.

Also - Amanda has been officially "christened". Zane peed on her this afternoon during one of many diaper changes. She did everything right; covered his penis until she had the new diaper under him and ready to fasten it. In the split second she uncovered it, a HUGE stream of urine arched up, over the ottoman and on to Amanda's leg. Luckily she was wearing yellow pj bottoms at the time! I laughed my ass off, partly because it was funny and partly because I know my turn is not far off. I'm just glad his plumbing works.

In other news, there is no other news. I'm just a happy dad today.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!