Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-26 - 7:16 p.m.

er

I don't know where the time goes. I swear I just did an entry the other day... ok, 10 days ago.

It's been crazy. It's been fun. It's been frustrating. It's gone by so fast. Today his cord stump fell off onto my chest as I was holding him. At first I thought it was a piece of poopy (a now regular term in my vocabulary) so I did what any dad would do, I reached down to pick it up. Upon closer inspection I recognized it as the raisin-on-steroids that has been attached to my son all this time. It should be one of those milestones I celebrate, but today has not been so filled with the spirit of celebration.

I got a call this morning at 7:30 on my cell phone. When I looked at the name of who was calling I knew something must be wrong. This is the same girl for whom "Noon" equates with "early". If she was up before 10am on a weekend, something was wrong.

I ended up driving her to the emergency room - the history is too much to go into right now, but she's been feeling dizzy and puking for the past two weeks. She thought she had it under control, but found out she was wrong about that this morning. I felt so bad for her - she really was not doing well. We spent the day together in the treatment room while she dined intravenously on saline and potassium. We left around 3:00pm and she's now at our house resting. She'll spend the night with us - neither Amanda nor I want her to be at her house alone.

It's difficult to be so sick you have no control over what your body does. It's even more difficult to be that way in an emergency room around strangers. What does not make it any easier is to have one of those nurses who thinks you're just blowing it all out of proportion. Our nurse, I'll call her "Janet" because that was her name, was obviously absent the day they taught good bedside manner. She kept looking at me and rolling her eyes everytime Amy had a pain, got dizzy or felt like she couldn't do what Janet wanted her to do.

Amy: "The IV is stinging. It hurts."

Janet: "It shouldn't hurt."

Me: "Well bitch, if she says it's hurting, then it's hurting." OK - I didn't really say this. Out loud.

Why argue with someone, especially someone who is sick, with that type of logic? It's insane. I don't care if it's supposed to hurt or not; the girl whose arm it's going into says it hurts! Your job now: fix it.

Meanwhile the doctor (whose first name is "Fun" - isn't that great?) was terrific. He seemed concerned, told us our options, asked some questions, responded with enthusiasm and even a few stories... I felt like I should have complained about the nurse, but thought better of it. It just wasn't worth it, everything was better by then anyway.

Meanwhile, I originally got online tonight to do some work. I brought some home Friday when I realized it took me four hours to do one page's worth of reports I need to do. Friday morning I started on page 8, and when I left for the day I was on page nine. It takes me that long to calculate two numbers I need for each report I'm doing. I'm doing 188 reports all together. I'm on #17. But here I sit, writing this entry instead. It's been way more fun than doing calculations.

That's it.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!