Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-01 - 7:43 a.m.

sick dad

I am currently getting over a headcold - the past few days are now a blur and I think it's almost out of me now. I think it's been difficult for Amanda, and I feel bad about that. Wednesday I went home and got in bed at 5:00. Yesterday was a bit better, and I actually fed Z and held him for a bit. I'm terrified of giving him my germs - I know he's going to get sick eventually, I just don't want to be the cause of it.

So it's been mostly Amanda's responsibility to take care of him. It's unfair because she takes care of him all day long and could probably use a break for a few hours each evening. To have me come home and get into bed must seem unfair.

It's also been interesting to see how people at work react to my being sick. When I came in Wednesday, I was really dragging. I felt like I was in a haze - lots of head congestion and no energy at all. I came in and sat at my desk and just worked all day - no talking to people, no making small talk in the break room. I just wasn't in the mood to do much but sit and crank out some calculations on the computer. Everyone had their reasoning for the way I was acting. Most people thought I was feeling the "new parent lack of sleep" catch up with me. My manager even called me into his office to have a talk with me. When I told him I was feeling sick, he looked relieved. I guess he thought I was pissed about something, or unhappy with my job. Generally I am a positive person - I come in and do my work, but I also say hello and talk with people when needed. I'm completely different when I'm sick. The most noticeable way I'm different is that I tend to have no patience for anyone when I don't feel well. Knowing this, I stayed away from everyone. When I explained this to my manager he seemed to understand - meanwhile I was floored that he even asked me about it. At my last job, I'm not even sure if my boss knew if I was at work on any particular day, let alone what kind of mood I was in.

About half an hour later I walked into the Director's office. My manager was standing there, laughing. It seems he told the director that "Joshua says he's just burned out. He feels like he needs some time off to sort things out and he's wondering if he made the right decision to come to work for us." That's my manager's idea of a joke - and now that I'm feeling better, I think it's hilarious.

Side Note: Will someone please stop Evanescence from releasing any more crap - I'm tired of hearing that Paula Cole wannabe wail and whine her way through songs.

End side note.

That's it.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!