Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-27 - 8:15 a.m.

speed

Zane started daycare Monday. It's a new daycare (for us) - not the one we orignally chose. This one is much nicer, newer and all around better. Amanda was so excited when she found it - she told me all about it, filled out the paperwork right away and invited me to come see it. That told me immediately that it would be a better place than the one we initially chose. She had invited me to go see that one too, but we never really made a plan to do so. When she found the new one, however, the paperwork was done and I was taking a tour of the place within 3 days. I never stepped foot inside the other one, but I could tell it would never have been a place I felt comfortable leaving my child all day. Still, it's difficult to have your child in someone else's care, a stranger's care, all day.

We're all beginning to adjust to the new schedule I think. Amanda was first to adapt to the change. I think she was really ready to get back to work, feel useful and productive. I'm just now getting into the routine - go past the house after work, jockey for position in traffic, go to daycare and make smalltalk, gather bottles clothes carseat baby, sign him out on the clipboard, sign him out on the electronic system, go home. Zane is not trying to adjust. Not that I really expect him to; it's just that he's in the car more often, without his mom all day, around other kids, etc. I think he's fine and will eventually come to enjoy the "dad" time he's getting.

The new game he likes to play is "speed"... you know, like the movie. It can be while we're in the car, or when he's in his stroller. If we stop moving, he cries. Start moving again, he's fine - even asleep. But don't you dare stop. I've become that person that everyone hates on the road - putting on my brakes well behind the stopped vehicle in front of me and then coasting to it in an effort to maximize the "go" time. And he has this cry. He cries and cries, and then when he tries to cry some more, he's out of breath or exasperated and it just comes out as this pitiful cry-like sigh that tears my heart out of my chest and stomps on it endlessly. I try explaining things to him ("we're almost home" , "the bottle is almost ready" , etc) but as he has still not mastered the english language, he just cries. He has already got me wrapped around his finger.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!