Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-24 - 7:54 a.m.

trash and speculation

So after all my praising of my manager he takes me to lunch on Friday and tells me he has applied for a new position within our company. I am incredibly happy for him, but nervous about what it will mean for me. I hate to sound selfish, but I've really enjoyed the past eight months - I've learned a lot and been less stressed than in years.

It also reinforced my respect for him. There was no reason for him to tell me - no reason I needed to know. It's important to note that there is nothing definite here - he may or may not get the job. But the possibility exists. And this comes in the wake of our VP resigning to go work for an independent physician group. Our tiny department is getting tinier.

I'm not especially worried that I'll lose my job. There has been speculation that the PHO I work for is going to be dissolved before too long. I try not to pay attention to speculation though. And I think if there were any danger, my manager would have told me. Really - I know it sounds naive, and I may eat those words later on, but my manager wouldn't just abandon me and let me fall flat on my face, I just can't believe he would do that. This is not a corporate atmosphere with rampant backstabbing. This is a small entity owned by a larger one - and recently voted best place to work in the city. And besides - they (for some reason) think I'm brilliant - if anything were to happen with my office, I am sure I'd be able to transition to another department.

Enough on that for now.

On another topic: Should it disgust me or make me happy that Amanda and I filled a contractor sized garbage bag while cleaning out our bathroom this weekend? Part of me is impressed that we got rid of that much crap. And part of me is astonished that we had that much crap just in the bathroom.

And on a sappy note: All of me is still extremely in love with my beautiful wife. She is incredible to watch with people, with family and especially with Zane. I love her.

UPDATE: I've amended the whatiread page (link below) to include the "mean person from KC". She's not really mean - she's nice and a great writer. Check out inthisgirlslife.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!