Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-01 - 7:00 a.m.

post thanksgiving post

I came in early this morning to catch up on all the stuff I really should have done Friday. So here I sit. Posting.

In reading the different journals I like I have noticed one thing: those of us who had to work the day after Thanksgiving did not actually do any work. We all came in, saw there was no one in the office (to speak of) and promptly started writing in our journals/blogs. Boredom was rampant Friday. I venture to guess that we (the collective of those of us "working" on Friday) actually did about 2 hours of work, if you lump it all together. And the world is still here. Interesting.

As it's customary to do - I thought I'd write a few words about how my Thanksgiving day was. It started out with me driving to the gas station, giving some old woman the finger, and then on to the grocery store to buy items with which to make a delicious side dish to take with us to Amanda's family for the feast. Yes - I gave some old lady the finger. She deserved it.

I really enjoyed the day - I count myself lucky that I like to be around Amanda's family. They're great people. The only thing that really pissed me off was when Amanda's mother was holding Zane. He was happily sucking his thumb (I'm not opposed to that) and she ripped it out of his mouth and proceeded to shove his pacifier into his mouth. He cried. She responded to this with, "Awwww. Whass the matter? Why you cryin'?"

I actually took in a breath with which to reply, "Because he was perfectly happy until you ripped his thumb out of his mouth, now put it BACK!" But instead I said nothing. I have decided that next time I will say something. I'll just have to pull her aside to do it. Embarrassing her in front of people is not the way to get things accomplished - instead it just makes her pout. And it's really not that big of a deal. It's just become obvious that certain people need to be "trained" when it comes to things like that. She had no idea what she was doing, and no real way to know that it would upset me. Next time, she will.

Which brings me to another subject - our friends. This is a difficult one. Amanda and I have been labelled as "baby whipped". That means that whatever the baby needs is our first priority. Whatever decision needs to be made is primarily decided on how it will affect the baby. I don't think this is such a bad thing. In fact, I think Amanda and I should be honored for this. Our friends think differently. Hooray for them. It has come to our attention, more than once, that there are people in the world who, when they have a child, think that child should be "folded" in to their lives... with as little disruption as possible. They try not to change the way they do things, the places they go and the hours they keep. Amanda and I are different. We changed everything, almost. And that's how I like it - he needs me and I need to be there for him. And quite frankly, I enjoy being around my son more than I enjoy being around anyone else.

That's that.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!