Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-16 - 7:58 p.m.

funerals and raises

Monday - the day just after I found out that my mother has been diagnosed with cancer - Amanda called to tell me that a five year old child she knows died from complications from the flu. How fucking depressing can the world be. The funeral will be Thursday.

Today, however, was a different story. I have processed the news about my mother some more, and I'm feeling better about it all. I amended my vacation request for the holidays to allow me to go to my parents' house a few days early - that will make me feel better, and I think my mother is happy to have me, Amanda and Zane a bit earlier.

My boss took me out to lunch today - it turned out to be a 3 hour lunch. We ate (he paid) and did some errands he needed to do. While we were doing the actual eating part of the lunch, he told me that he has accepted another job within our hospital system. I knew it was coming, I just didn't know when. Ironically he will still be in our building - in fact, he will be about 20 feet from my desk. It will be good to still have him around.

He also let me know that he's been "campaining" for me - trying to get me some more money. I inquired to find out exactly why and he told me that it was because I had completely exceeded their expectations and brought valuable knowledge to the department. He said I deserve a lot more than I'm making (which just happens to be the most I have ever made in my life). He said that merit raises would be awarded in February, and that I'd get one - but he wanted me to also get something "extra" before that. No one is sure how much, or when, or even if it will happen. But damn, it feels incredible to be appreciated.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!