Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-07 - 9:25 a.m.

murder

Favorite "quote" I've recently seen:

"Your honor student crucified my son."

-God

taken from The Door magazine, Jan/Feb 2004

So today I walk into work and the executive assistant tells me she's upset because there was a double-homicide next door to her last night. I resisted the temptation to ask if she would have been OK if it were just a regular single homicide... She went on to tell me the story of how she woke up this morning to find part of her front yard taped off with yellow police tape and cars all over the place.

She went on, as she is prone to do, and told me how the one "cop" came over to her as she stood watching the commotion. He eventually pulled out a photo (we're assuming it's a suspect's photo) and asked if she knew or had ever seen him. As she tells me all of this, she says, "I hadn't seen him before. I couldn't even tell if he was a foreigner."

WHAT??

What the hell does that even mean? You couldn't even tell if he was a foreigner!?! This from someone who tells me she doesn't want to go have Thai for lunch because, "...if I'm gonna spend money on lunch, I want to spend it on good food." And then she trots off to Captain D's. Yup - good eatin' there.

I have enough stories about this woman to write a book of ignorant things she's done or thinks. I used to have a "dumb things the assistant said/did" story hour and Amanda and I would laugh and laugh at all the amusements of the day. That got old. There were so many stories that we rarely got around to talking about other things.

In other news...

Zane's favorite word (if you can call it that) is "da-da-da-da-da-da-da..." I'm no expert, but I don't truly believe he's saying Daddy, or any variation thereof. I think I remember reading somewhere that the "D" sound is one of the easiest, and therefore first, sounds a baby makes. Now, the fact that it's even close to "daddy" makes me very happy, don't get me wrong. It's just that he says it to Amanda, the dogs, the wall, his walker, etc. It holds no true meaning for him at this point. It's not like he only says it when he sees me.

He continues to amaze me though. He's really trying to crawl, and is now very good at the "army crawl", you know - arms only. He can travel quite a good distance, and quickly. We purchased some cabinet locks, child safety style, because of this. He's also very good in the walker. He gets in and takes off... after me, or the dogs. He loves it. His little laugh and fits of hysteria when he figures out that he can now get to that place way over on the other side of the room just make my day. My boy is mobile. Lately, his favorite place to go is the dog dish. We have the dual dish (food, water) on a stand in the kitchen. He loves to maneuver his walker so that he's effectively ramming the crap out of those dishes. The other night, after he had already performed this trick two or three times, I pulled him and the walker away from the dishes and sternly told him "no". I was treated to the most pitiful look followed by howls of sadness. It broke my heart. He knows the word "no" means something... and it has to do with not doing whatever he's doing... and he knows Daddy said it to him. He cried and cried.

The great news is that, at only 9 months, he quickly forgets little incidents such as these, and I was soon forgiven. He loves me.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!