Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-02 - 6:54 a.m.

pump you up

I am proud of us. Amanda and me.

We joined a gym. Workouts, sweating, intimidation galore.

I went in this morning at 5:30. The biggest deal was just getting myself into the door. I figured out that most of the males who work out that early in the morning are really into it - they're HUGE. So there I was. All One Hundred Forty pounds of me. Watching guys do curls with weights heavier than me. OK, that's an exaggeration, but it's what I felt like they were doing. I kind of just wandered around, trying to figure out what machine works what. Trying to figure out how to mount the machines, select a weight appropriate for me and perform the exercise correctly.

But I did it. And soon I won't feel so intimidated. Soon I won't feel like all eyes are on me, right? I try to focus on not focusing on anyone - just me and the gym. How very zen of me.

In other news, the Zane man had double pink eye for a few days. He's over it now, but nothing's worse than having your spouse restrain your one-year-old while you drop stinging yellow drops into his beautiful innocent little eyes. He got over it much faster than I did. I just felt bad having to do that to him. He, on the other hand, blinked a few times after the drops were in and then smiled and reached out for me. I wish everyone could be more like that.

"Hey - I'm not quite sure why you just did that to me, but look - I'm not mad and why can't we just get back to playing with blocks?"

Speaking of blocks - Zane is so funny about his. He has a 90-piece set of colored wooden blocks. He loves them. Well, he loves most of them. OK - he only likes the brown and black ones. He never plays with the other colors. It's crazy - if he has a red one, he'll walk over and hand it to me and then go find a black one. Then he just walks around with it. I thought maybe there were just more of the black ones, but no, there's not. He will dig into the bucket of blocks just to find the black ones. I need to do some research to find out why they might be more attractive to him...

In any case, he remains perfect and my favorite child in the universe. I can't believe how great he is. And I can't wait till he starts talking in (understandable) sentences.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!