Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-20 - 7:03 a.m.

weed wacker birthday

Not much going on here lately that doesn't have to do with work. I've been working longer hours and on weekends as well. I get to work some this weekend and then again next weekend. In the meantime, I feel like there's no time left to do things I want to do. And even though I didn't have to work this past weekend, I didn't feel like doing much either.

It's strange how that works out. All I can do while I'm at work is wish I had some time to get things done. Then when I actually get a free weekend I don't feel like doing anything. By the time the weekend's over, I start to feel lazy for not doing anything.... then I start the whole cycle over again.

On to happier things. I got a very early birthday present yesterday (my birthday is actually still 3 months away). I got a mack-daddy weed wacker. I know. I know. It sounds insane, but it's what I wanted. There's an unspoken competition going on in the 'hood, and I feel like I'm losing the yard battle. The guy across the street from me has a riding lawn mower and mows every few days. I am lucky to do it every couple weeks. He's also selling his house, though, a fact that Amanda pointed out to me in an effort to make me feel better about not being so meticulous. The woman who lives next door (we have various names for her. She's a professional marathon runner - who knew? - and lives there with her two very young, very loud and whiny children) has an incredible variety of flowers trees shrubs bushes and a garden full of vegetables. She's always coming over when I'm out mowing and saying things like, "If you want, I'll come over and fix this area up for you." And I'm always, "Yeah. Go screw yourself." OK, so I don't really say that, but I want to. What I should say is that I'm lucky enough to have the time and energy required just to mow, so leave me alone about how I killed something I thought was ugly or a weed and actually turned out to be a rare variety of iris! God - I should write about her more often... it just spills right out! The point is, I enjoy working with tools - power tools are even better - and I like to try to make our yard look nice, but lack of money and time are HUGE obstacles.

So here's the funny part of the story. I'm in the garage putting this new thing together when I realize that the last time I used the lawn mower it just died on me. So now that I'm feeling all home-improvement, I decide to fix it. I figure spark plug or clogged fuel line or something I can really get into. I look at everything and it seems fine. So when I am as frustrated as I can be - I decide to check the gas.... and hey! look! it's out of gas. I gas her up and off she goes. Works just fine now that I put some gas in it! What a dumbass.

Speaking of gas - the grocery store near our house is building a gas pump island in the middle of their parking lot. What's up with that? When did the grocery stores start selling fuel? Just seems odd to me. Will they honor double coupon day there?

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!