Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-28 - 7:08 a.m.

confustrated

What a week... how long has it been since I updated? It seems like months. I guess that's a side-effect of being so focused on work related issues lately - not realizing there's a world out there.

It's sort of funny, ironic. I spent four months unemployed and almost checked myself into a looney bin. I would have given anything to have some place to go during the day, someplace that would pay me every so often. Now that I'm working again, I wish I had a day..... to do nothing. I do actually have one of those days, I just can't use it. I worked one day a few weeks back when I wasn't scheduled to work.

So my boss says, "Just let me know when you'd like to have your day off."

So I says, "How 'bout next Monday?"

And he says, "No."

It seems we're too busy to take days off. Too busy to allow employees some sanity time.

Truth is (and I think I've said this before) when I do have a free day, I do absolutely nothing at all. Then I spend the following few days feeling guilty that I just wasted a day. Then we have friends over and I feel embarassed that we don't have a clean house, food in the fridge....and I did nothing all day one day.

In other news: I got an email from a guy that I had contacted last year when I was thinking of leaving my last job. He sounded interested. I was interested. He never emailed back to let me know anything back then. So now I get one saying, "Hey - you sent us your resume a few weeks back. You still interested?"

I have no idea what the job pays. I don't even know what I'd be doing on a daily basis. All I know is that it would be a much better drive than what I'm facing once my current company relocates. I'll go for an interview - if he ever gets back to me. I'm still considering other options, although I love my job. It's just the pay that sucks. And then there's the fact that I have a master's degree and I'm currently working in the IT field - not what my degree is in. But hey - what's a degree? Really it's just an excuse for me to have to owe someone $30,000 so I can frame and hang a little diploma. No one cares about your degree anymore - at least they certainly don't want to pay you for it.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!