Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-06 - 9:48 a.m.

hot

Pay no attention to that last entry... just showing Amanda how incredibly easy it is to update. But it is true, we have new patio furniture.

It's Saturday. 9:45 am. I don't have to go to work today - thank god. So I thought I'd come out and sit on the patio and read some journals, update here, and drink some coffee. On the *new* patio furniture. Only problem is, it's 1,000 freakin degrees!! Seriously, it's hot out here. This is why I left Florida. Get up in the morning, take a shower, walk outside, need another shower. I moved up here to get away from that energy-draining heat. It's difficult to enjoy coffee when you have to wipe away the sweat from your lip before drinking. Already hot? Drink some coffee....

So today is my "catch-up" day. I need to get things done so I won't feel like a lazy ass on Monday morning for having yet another weekend go by without getting anything accomplished. Yard work. Cleaning. Laundry. And yes, they are in order of best to worst. I actually enjoy yard work - although today may be a different story. Laundry on the other hand is a creation of satan I am sure.

In other news, I have not heard back from the guy with the job. The same guy who sent me an email asking if I'm still interested in a position with the company. A year after my email to him. A year. And he sent it as if only a few days had gone by. Why do companies work this way? Better than that, how? And do I want to work somewhere that is slow and unresponsive? If I start working there, and clients ask me to do something, can I just assume that I have a year to finish it for them?

I guess the only truly important thing here is that I am working. I have a job. Never again do I want to spend four months or more unemployed. It was hell. I felt like shit. No one ever responded to my resume. As much as I may complain about my current position, I like my job. I just don't always like the people I work with. I don't like that I work for a company that sells things, and so the salespeople like to come to me and say, "Do you know who pays your paycheck?" The implication here is that they pay my paycheck. They don't. And the fact that I work my ass off and I am basically on call 24/7 doesn't mean a thing.

I got a phone call from one of them asking me to help him fix his laptop. Something wrong with the mouse. I learned that he had already spoken with my manager and the network administrator and neither one of them could help. So I asked him to bring it in the next day. His response - "Is this going to be a wasted trip?"

Amanda's point: What the hell makes him think he's so great that his time is more valuable than anyone else's? I'm not sure I ever would think to say that to someone - and if I find a solution to your problem, it's not a waste of time. You can't do shit with your machine as it is... isn't that more of a waste? For a bunch of grown men, they sure do whine a lot.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!