Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-26 - 11:05 a.m.

craziness

What the hell? There's strange goings-on around here. Around work that is. So many people being "let go". Let go. Like it's a release of some sort. Well it is I guess, just not as innocuous as it seems. It's more like kicked out. People from the VP who was told to leave at 3pm Wednesday to the rep who had just been here a week. Of course the rep had also run a truck over a mailbox and into a customer building 4 times, but hey - we all make mistakes.

The VP had been here ten years or so. He had his own parking space. His family still lives out of state because after he was transferred here, they decided to wait the two years until his son graduated from high school. Now he's headed back to them. With no job and no paycheck. Yes, he was a VP and made a shit load and got a severance package, but it still sucks. It leaves me with no real motivation to go the extra mile. The only thing I'm truly motivated to do is to search frantically for a new job. Up to now it's been just a daily activity. Come in, do some work, look for a job, do some more work. Now it seems much more urgent. The only thing I can't let myself do is quit without having something else first. I tried that already and all it got me was unemployed for four months and the fear of losing our house. NOTE: Don't ever buy a new car and a new house and then quit your job 6 months later without first having found another job to go to. Sounds logical now, sure. But it seemed like such a great thing to do then. Liberated finally from the constraints and stupidity of Corporate America. But it was corporate america that was paying my mortgage. I know that now.

I found out Wednesday that I have to work this weekend. The email from my manager said, "I need you both here this weekend." That's it. So since he didn't specify a time, can I just show up around noon? How long should I stay? I still don't have answers to these questions. Disorganized, that's the main problem with this company. Nobody know what anyone else is doing or how it's going to get done. Hell, my own manager waited until two days ago to tell me I have to work this weekend. What's up with that? What if I had plans.... Oh yeah, his reply to that was "You should have known you'd have to work this weekend."

Should have known. What is this, the psychic friends network? "Call me now..."

So I decided that when October rolls around and I am able to take 2 weeks off I just won't show up at work. My defense will be "You should have known I'd take my vacation."

Meanwhile - looks like no children for Amanda and I right now. We're both getting frustrated and beginning to be upset. I know we're doing everything right, just can't quite figure out why it's not working. I can't keep talking about this - my mind is racing with a million different things that might be the matter, and it's making my head hurt....

just frustrated.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!