Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-09 - 7:26 p.m.

romanian ass

WOW! Two journal entries in one day!!! It's astounding....

I guess I just got a sort of energy boost. It's either from the rotisserie chicken I bought for dinner, or the fact that someone actually contacted me about a J-O-B. (I don't want to say it out loud and jinx everything.) I got an email from some guy saying he was interested in speaking with me, said he'd seen my resume on a job web site. He's with a managed care company that deals with technology as well. That's the best part. Finally someone wants to speak with me and they are with a company that could actually USE my help.

So today also marks my official move to the new office. It sadly also marks my last day of being able to stay away from the office at odd times during the day. I can't go MIA anymore. The new office actually has cameras in the halls and around the outside perimeter, and at the gate as you leave. The sensor at the gate time stamps when you come and go.... No more early morning runs to the convenience store to buy creme filled cupcakes for breakfast. No more 2 hour lunches. No more coming in late but acting like I was off actually doing something instead of being late. This weekend will be the official time of mourning for the end to the fun.

I moved all my stuff - it fit into 3 copy-paper sized boxes. Then there was the laptop and replicator. That's it. That's my means of putting meat on the table, all represented in 3 plain boxes. It sort of seems like there's not much for me to do. The truth of the matter is just that I don't do much... there's really lots to be done. I've just grown lazy here at this job I hate. And now I have more reasons to hate it. One of the guys I have to work with is Chris. He's an ass. He's (no offense intended) from Romania and has an incredibly thick accent. He uses it to his advantage as far as I can tell. And he has this little problem called cleptomania (sp?). He sees something he wants, asks if he can borrow it, and then when you say you need it back he says "Oh, no. You cannot have it. It is mine!" And he is serious!!! He actually believes it's his. I used to feel sorry for him, like maybe he was very very poor in Romania and lived in the streets. He and his family polished shoes for a living until they could afford one gallon of gas which they used to fuel a balloon to allow him to escape. (This is where it gets good...in case you were wondering) In this balloon, he floats all the way to America!! Yes, it's a bit like the biblical oil that lasted eight days instead of one, or whatever the story is. But that's the beauty of it. It seemed impossible, but he made it. And now that he is in the land of opportunity, he still remembers what it was like to have nothing at all. So he steals it and claims it's his own.

THE END

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!