Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-21 - 2:33 p.m.

bike renaissance

Well, it seems I got off track for a while... haven't updated in a while. I've been reading some other sites and journals (namely mid's and my brother's) and it made me want to post something. Now, what to write....

I'm amazingly excited about my wife's birthday present to me - she had my bike fixed. It's a roadbike... for cyclists. Not a motorbike or anything like that. Trek 400, about 10 years old - but still a great bike. It used to be one of the best they made. Now I just need to get on it and start cycling again. It was one of the greatest things I've done - I just went out one day and bought a bike. Once I started riding, I couldn't stop, literally. There's a very free, solitary feeling you get when you're riding. Not confined to a car, or even roads for that matter. There was no finding a parking space or any of that mess. Just me and the bike. In a beautiful setting in my college town. A town with lots of lakes and back roads that were barely travelled by motorized vehicles. I got up early (5am) every morning except Sundays and rode until I felt like going back to the school. It was a perfect way to start the day. Sometimes I could get in 25 or 30 miles before I had to return so I could get to class.

It was also my primary mode of transport for 3.5 of my 4 years there. Not bad, unless it rained. The point is, I am happy to have it back. I just need to make time to ride it now.

In other news...

I may have mentioned that I was contacted by someone who saw my resume on the internet. I returned the email and have called and left some messages, but can't seem to get anyone to call me back. What makes you contact someone who needs a job and then avoid them when they try to return the message? It's not like I went specifically after his company. I just put my resume out there. He's the one who saw it and decided to make the first move. I just want some honesty. If you are no longer interested in hiring me, call me and tell me so. Stop ignoring my messages. Better yet, call me in for an interview. I don't even know what job he supposedly has for me. All I know is that at one point in time he was so interested in speaking to me, he took the time to send me an email and ask me to get in touch with him.

The good news is....

It looks like I may actually get some vacation in. My manager signed off on me getting both Labor Day and the following Tuesday off. Yippee!! Now of course he'll come to me at the last minute and tell me he "forgot" that he actually needs me to come in on those days. It's sort of like in the movie "Office Space". He'll say to me, "Yeah. I'm gonna need you to go ahead and come in this weekend... and on those days off you thought you had."

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!