Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-21 - 8:27 a.m.

saturday

Well, here I sit at work. Yup, it's Saturday morning. Got here at 8:00. Nothing like showing up at the office on the weekend to completely fuck up your sense of time. It always makes Monday that much more difficult.

Further complicating things is the fact that I spent the hour-long drive home yesterday contemplating quitting my job. One of the factors influencing this train of thought is that I am either on call or at the office 98 hours per week. Needless to say, I do not get paid for 98 hours a week. Instead I get a measly little salary and have to travel quite a bit using my car. Wear and tear. Those words never held so much meaning to me before.

The only thing that makes me feel better is that I have an incredibly good life. All things considered, that is. My wife is the summation of all that is good and positive - more than I could have hoped for. I have a home (and so I have a mortgage - and shouldn't quit my job), fantastic friends, and the most loyal and supportive and inspiring brother. Why do I complain so much then? I have a feeling that I am a bit too idealistic. I think things should be more simple than they are. I think people screw things up with their own selfishness and tunnel vision. I think that if you spill McD's coffee on yourself, you shouldn't announce to the world that you're a dumbass by letting your pride get in the way and suing. I also think that if you're a large corporation dependent upon your customers to pay for your services, you should hire more than JUST ME to provide hardware/software support to all of them.

Sorry, got a bit off track there.

Right now all I want is to get started on my damn work that I got up early on a Saturday morning to do. It's 8:49 now and all I've done is gotten coffee, checked out a few journals (Mid: you take a day off whenever the hell you feel like it. Big brother: I now have an image of you lip syncing Bjork burned in my head. Amanda: you're beautiful.) and I wrote some instructions on how to do part of what we're here to do today.

This is part of what I was talking about here. I feel like this job is defining my life - it makes me crazy!

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!