Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-25 - 1:59 p.m.

longing for yesterday

What a great day I had yesterday! I think every week I should take off a day in the middle of the week. It's very nice to be not at work and not sick either, even if your work thinks you're sick. A few years ago it would have bothered me to call in sick if I wasn't truly sick. But now? Fuck 'em.

I had some flashbacks of the old days, a year ago, when I was unemployed for four months. I felt a bit nostalgic when "Blind Date" came on TV. So, I sat and watched it as I ate lunch. All I have to say is that I am thankful to be married, and that I never had to go through such miserable experiences as these people have. One woman actually said to her date, "Maybe one day I won't be so shallow as to go for just good looking men. Maybe I'll just start looking for the rich ones." Not too shallow, huh?

Afterwards I spent some quality time on the computer looking for jobs. The sad news is, there's not much out there. And I think that lots of what is there is only there because companies have to advertise positions. What they're doing is just promoting from within, never really wanting to hire an "outsider". That sucks.

I did finally get to clean the garage. I know, sounds boring. But it made me feel like I was accomplishing something to make our house look and feel better. It's been neglected for a while now, neither one of us has the energy to really do anything - or if we do, we'd rather spend the energy doing something else. Found a great wall-mounted bike rack for my bike. Now I won't worry that I'm going to back into it when I park. Amanda and I started the day with a ride. It felt great. I think it contributed a great deal to my outlook for the day. It's always good to start the day with something to get your energy up - it's just that I refuse to do it on work days because it would mean getting up at 4am. I'm proud of Amanda for going with me. Before she bought her bike she made a remark about how it didn't seem to be that much exercise. Now she knows differently. She's not alone in that thought, though. Right along with soccer, Americans don't get too into cycling. There's generally a large foreign interest in both sports, but here - no one cares. One reporter's article I read about Lance Armstrong's latest Tour de France win stated that all the "hoopla" was confusing to him. He couldn't figure out why someone got so much glory just for sitting down for a few days. I imagine the guy who wrote it probably had to wipe the powdered sugar from his donut off the final copy of the article before he turned it in. You may not be into cycling, but how the hell can you think it's just "sitting"?

I've decided that I'm not going to focus on my job so much anymore. It'll just be something in the background. Like an annoying itch that's just out of reach. One day I'll find some way to scratch it, but in the meantime I'm going to focus on other things. More important things.

Today is also my big brother's birthday - Happy Birthday big brother! I spoke to him this morning - he says he feels old....

...he's not.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!