Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-10 - 4:40 p.m.

DUN can't stop me

OK so I'm back up and running on my computer at work. Had some trouble getting the DUN to work properly, and I still can't dial in to the network remotely, but at least I can dial in and get to diaryland. Who cares if I can access the network from home, right?

Last night went well. What looked like a shitload of pasta turned out to be just enough for the 9 people who showed up. Hopefully I'll have a few hours this weekend to make some more and freeze it. I'd eat pasta all the time if it was always homemade. It's better than anything they have in the stores. The one person who isn't too hip on pasta actually ate it and liked it. That says a lot. I was glad to have people over, but I was also happy when they all left.

One of our nephews was there too (not the one pictured on this page). He's doing exceptionally well - he had some problems when he was born, and he'll have a lot to work through. They weren't even positive he'd live. It was good to see him and have a wave of reality come over me - "this is a glimpse of what it's going to be like.... 24 hours a day..." That thought kept going through my mind. It's scary, and there's no way to be prepared for what's in store for us. It scares the hell out of me sometimes. At one point I was holding him and one of our friends ran out to the car to get a camera.... not sure why still. We've all talked about the fact that Amanda and I will be outcasts once we have a baby. From what I hear, we won't have time to worry about that though.

Today has been alright - except the super secret shortcut doesn't work as well in the morning as it does in the afternoon. It seems that someone told about 10,000 other people about it. But the good thing is that it's highway for most of the way. I can maintain about 80 mph for most of the drive. That's better than the 45 to 55 going the other way.

Alright - I feel like I've completely wasted an entry saying nothing useful, and now it's time to go home. Maybe I'll have more to say later. At least I got through one entry without mentioning the j-o-b.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!