Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-29 - 12:25 p.m.

death toll rises

I'm not sure what's going on around here. I feel like Rod Serling is going to summarize my experiences at any moment and I'll wake up and realize that I've been dreaming the whole thing.

We had another death today. It seems one of the drivers came in to work this morning, had a heart attack and died right here at the office. Is it just me or is the fact that we've had 15-20 deaths in less than a year just a tad bit unsettling?

Yet again I'm sitting here with not much else to write about, but feeling like it's really the only thing I want to do. I came to work this morning, logged onto the network, disconnected my lan from my personal hub, logged on to my home connection and surfed for the past several hours. Each time the phone rang, I actually got pissed off and refused to answer it. It was interrupting my personal time. I finally just hit the "send calls" button. I found out later why that doesn't always work. One of my customers called several times and when I didn't answer he got himself transferred to my boss. My boss, who left me a message telling me to call the customer. I did so, unenthusiastically. The customer had already left 3 messages saying the program wasn't working properly and please call him. When I finally did, he said,

"OK - I'm going to act like I'm placing an order and I'll tell you what error message I get."

Then I hear him say,

"Well - it looks like it's going through. It never did that before."

Guess just having me on the phone helped. Then I was pissed because there really was no problem in the first place and I had to spend time away from my surfing to "help" him. In lieu of another excuse, I'm going to name my problem:

"Gettin' ready for two days' vacation so I need to start practicing not working - beginning now."

That about sums it up. I don't feel like being here. I don't feel like answering the phone. I'm lazy. And death hovers all around me and it's fucking depressing.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!