Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-16 - 10:01 a.m.

tooth fairy

I'm finally finished with Red Dragon. I've been trying to read it for a while now - get home, clean a little, fix dinner, eat, head to bed eventually and try to read. The problem was, I was so tired most of the time I could only get through about 3 pages. Then the next night I'd have to turn back a page to figure out what was going on - in the sleepy state I was in it was difficult to stay on track. But I got up this morning and finished it. If you don't want to know about the book, stop reading now - book thoughts are contained in the *** areas below. (This means you, Amanda. I may ruin it for you.)

****BOOK STUFF BEGINS

As is often the case - the book was MUCH better than the movie was, or could have been. The only thing I liked better about the movie was the portrayal of Will Graham, the FBI investigator who initially nabbed Lecter.

Both movies ('Manhunter' and 'Red Dragon' - different versions of the first in the Lecter trilogy) showed Graham as a much stronger character with some flaws and a few weaknesses. The book seems to make him into an over the hill, weak, highly sensitive FBI agent. Crawford, the lead investigator, seems to make all the connections and drive the case in the book. While the movie portrayals were more believable and comfortable for me, I have to respect Harris' original work. My take on it may have been different had I read the book before having seen both movies.

The book kicked ass with Francis Dolarhyde. He's the psychotic focus of the story. Some of the scenes in the book scared the shit out of me. Harris also gives much more background on Dolarhyde, explaining some of the events from his childhood which led to his obsessions.

****BOOK STUFF ENDS

That's it. Nothing deep, nothing ground-breaking. I'm not writing an essay on the foreshadowing or literary (in)significance of the book - just wanted to share some thoughts. Oddly enough, I'm not really interested in reading Hannibal. I do want to read The Silence of the Lambs.

I never saw 'The Silence of the Lambs' in the theater. I wish I had. I rented it with a good friend of mine who I've known since 7th grade. As we were watching it, she had to go to the bathroom. We paused the tape and while she was out of the room, I turned off the TV and all the lights. She wasn't familiar enough with the house to know where the light switches were, and so she wouldn't stray far from the bathroom into the dark. It scared the shit out of her. I thought it was funny as hell. I feel bad for doing it now, it's still funny, but I feel bad. Apparently she forgave me - she was in our wedding and still talks to me.

Meanwhile - it's raining again. I wouldn't mind so much - but we're heading up to Amanda's father's house to celebrate his birthday. I like the rain - don't like driving in it. I'd much rather stay in and get the house looking a little better. But I know myself - if we stayed here today, I'd end up laying on the couch watching crappy TV or playing video games. Then I'd feel like I wasted the day. Guess that's all -

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!