Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-19 - 9:03 a.m.

it's a ram

Amanda and I had a fun-filled weekend. It all began on Friday when we kicked ass at a card game with our friends. Our winnings? About $1.50, in pennies. We're not exactly high-rollers, and the game we play is based on bets and pots consisting of pennies. Still - we were happy to win. Winning is always fun.

Saturday (as you can read from the last entry - I'm doing this after the fact...)was a trip up to see the father-in-law for his birthday celebration. It was rainy and it's sort of a long drive - which equals tired and lethargic in my world. I really wanted to do something or go somewhere when we got home, but couldn't find the energy to do it. I think we ended up going to McD's to satisfy some cravings....

Sunday was great. I woke up thinking I was going to get a chainsaw attachment for my weedeater (yes- that's right, they make a chainsaw attachment for it). I know - the idea sounds strange, but who wouldn't want (who doesn't need) to put a chainsaw on the end of a motorized 5 foot stick? Well, for $99, I don't. All I wanted to do was cut some branches. There are some particularly annoying branches right outside the window next to Amanda's side of the bed. They scrape the house when the wind blows and keep her up at night. I figured getting up 12 times during the night for the bathroom was probably all the sleep-interruption she needed, so I wanted to cut them down. So we headed out to get the chainsaw - but then the price hit me. It occurred to me that I wouldn't use it that often and didn't really need to blow 99 bucks on it. So I found one of those pole saws. I remember my dad had one when we were younger. It always seemed so cool (they didn't have chainsaw attachments for your weedwacker back then). Dad handled it like a pro - going about the yard making everything look nicer, clearing away all the debris when he was finished. It looked easy. Simple. Anyone could do it. Then there's me. Amanda and I are in our bedroom (I don't own a ladder tall enough to reach the roof) with me hanging out the window, carefully and slowly sawing off branches. We got 'em all. Then we went to the front guest bedroom to do the same with the branches on the other side of the house. The feeling got inside me and made me want to go out into the yard and do more. I was powerful.

It was about the time we stepped out onto the front porch that Amanda says,"Hey - this thing has an extension. This lock releases and you get an extra few feet."

Well, shit. That would've made things a hellofalot easier when we were upstairs - me hanging out the window putting on a three stooges type show for all our neighbors to get a good laugh....

Needless to say - things went much smoother with the pole extended.

Forgot to mention the incredibly fun trip to the new dollar store. There's one that opened near us a few weeks ago and we've been wanting to check it out ever since. Amanda was the one that noticed a sign on the front door that read,

"Shoes or slippers required."

That should've told us something.

Unfortunately it's not one of the better dollar stores. Everything in there is actually a dollar. That's the most anything in there could be worth. But we made purchases. Yes - well, let me rephrase that. I made purchases. One of which was in a container labelled, "Dog head magnet". The great thing about it? It was a ram's head. There's no mistaking it - not a dog, but a ram. It's now on our refrigerator at home and if I owned a digital camera, I would take a picture of it and put it here for you to see. Amanda doesn't like it, and I don't think she thought it was as funny as I did.

Our life is interesting - if only to us.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!