Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-16 - 8:21 a.m.

it's monday, whadda you want

Lots to do. Not much time to get it all done.

Spent Friday at a sales meeting. Well, I wasn't actually in any of the meetings. I was there to finish installing email for our reps. It took me 8 hours of sitting there in one spot (2 or 3 bathroom breaks, no lunch) to finish up 30 laptops. Of course, it wasn't just email for most of them. I had a lot of, "Hey, while I'm here...." and "Could you just take a look at this?"

S'ok. That's what I am expected to do. The day ended with a bang, literally. At one o'clock, when I had finished with 29 of the machines I went to get the last one and the owner had brought in his personal printer from home. Seems he's having trouble getting it to print. Two hours later we still can't get it to print. The fact that I couldn't get two different CD drives to read the driver disk didn't help matters. He finally gave up, thanked me for my time and proceeded to pack his stuff up. I was busy moving the tables back to the configuration I found them in when C-R-A-S-H-! I look on the floor to see his printer lying there, in pieces. It took me a minute to figure out that I was to blame for the mishap. I profusely apologized (while holding back the urge to berate him for putting the printer in a plastic bag and then setting on a chair next to one of the tables I was moving)and told him to let me know if he wanted me to replace it. I felt terrible. Can't help the guy, then I throw his personal equipment on the ground.

We spent Saturday together. It was nice. We made guest gifts (party favors, whatever) for the Christmas party we're having this weekend. Listened to Christmas music. Sent out Christmas cards. Spent some time realizing that this will be our last Christmas with just the two of us. It was one of the best days I've had in a while. No pressure, no plans. Just me and Amanda doing whatever we wanted to do. I need more of that in my life.

Sunday we made it to church for the first time in several weeks. We missed all of Hannukah at church and we're now just in time to begin celebrating Christmas. That's one of my favorite things about our church, we don't focus on one tradition or celebration. We like to try to hit a variety of them. It's probably a little confusing to the kids, but it's good for me. None of that crap about loving Jesus and getting into heaven. There's no communion though, and I sorta miss "snack time" - that's what I used to call it. Afterwards I went to the one place I wanted to go to get a gift for Amanda - it's closed on Sundays and Mondays. That sucks. Then I got the bug - the "ohmygod we're having a baby and the house is not clean and I am going suck at being a dad" bug. So I started some laundry, did some dishes, emptied the trash. None of it made me feel better, but it is good that it's all done now.

Today I get to drive an hour north of the city to meet one of the reps. Seems I forgot to bring a laptop for a customer to the meeting on Friday. Apparently I promised him I would bring it with me.... oooops. And here I sit. I need to be getting the machine ready, need to be checking my voicemail after having been out Friday, need to do a lot of things.

Just don't want to.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!