Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-23 - 8:41 a.m.

i'm ineffective

I really need to start updating more often and stop doing these "catch up" entries where I cover days worth of events.

I also need to stop updating while I'm at work. It's hard enough to get internet access around here (I work in IT and it took 8 months for me to get it), and now I risk losing it so that I can have my journal time. Also - since most of what I write is (bad) work stuff - it's a risk just writing it here and having it all reside on the server or my hard drive.... I'm a risk taker.

Last week was likely one of the worst weeks of my time here. It started Tuesday when one of the biggest pricks here told me I had an attitude problem. I think there's a saying about a pot and a kettle....

It got out of hand when he told a coworker that I was "ineffective" in my job. Now, I know what he was saying was that there is too much work for one person to have to do - and that having only one person in this position is ineffective. But the way he said it made it sound like I am incompetent. I complained about it because I think it's highly inappropriate to make such comments. Get a journal and bitch about people the way the rest of us do! Don't go telling my coworkers about it.... and if you really think that one person is not enough, tell someone who can actually do something about it.

I got pissed and decided I would go visit one of his accounts that he's been complaining about for so long. I drove an hour and a half to fix a problem that wasn't anything to do with our company or our software. They had a printer problem. They just needed the right driver installed. It took 35 minutes (and that's only because I had to download the driver over a dial up connection) and then I was back on the road for the hour and a half drive back to the office.

Meanwhile, my emergency brake indicator on my dash has been lit up like a freakin christmas tree for the past month. I took the day off Friday and took in to have it fixed - it was just annoying, but I thought since I had the day off (to prep for our christmas party Saturday) I'd drop it by the dealer. They had to give me a rental car and do all kinds of work on it. Seems my brakes were about to fail. Shredded rotors, brakes down to 10 to 15%, tires needed rotating, oil needed changing. They looked at me like I was an alien. Like I was lucky to just be alive. $200 later, I had my car back - I love warranty work, it saved me lots of $$$.

Saturday we had a double header. We went to Amanda's mom's side of the family christmas. It's always a blast. OK, it's not - but I'm trying to be positive. It's really always the same. A bunch of hefty women bitch at each other and try to discipline each other's kids. At one point one of Amanda's aunts (the one I hate the most) started making this noise, "Eh, eh, eh, eh, eh, eh...." and I made a crack about how everyone should watch out, I think she's backing up! It was the highlight of the day. Thankfully she didn't hear me. Not that I would really mind, but I do have some interest in keeping the family peace. Besides, the people I wanted to hear it did. That's all that matters. ***Side note (to Mid), if you're reading this: we got one of those presents that you don't quite know what to do with. My solution was to "accidentally" leave it behind. I know, I know. It's a suckers way out of the situation, but I didn't think Amanda needed to be in a car for forty-five minutes smelling the most awful candle scent ever created.

The second portion of our Saturday consisted mainly of me whining about wanting to take a nap while we ran all over the house cleaning and cooking in preparation for the party. We had asked a few people to come over early to help out if they felt like it, but we actually got things taken care of before they showed up. The party was fun - it was also a reminder for me of why I don't drink anymore. I woke up Sunday with a massive headache. I didn't drink enough to get sick, just enough to not really give a shit if people thought I was entertaing, if our house was nice, if we provided good food and drink. I think people did have a good time - and I guess they'll stop coming when it's no longer fun. I shouldn't worry so much.

Oh, yeah - one more thing. The new Star Trek movie sucks ass. I can't believe they actually put that crap into a movie. Especially if you're a fan of the NG series, DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE. You will be saddened and left feeling ripped off. I wasn't expecting it to be sensational, just entertaining. It's $6.00 and an hour and a half I'll never be able to get back.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!