Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-13 - 3:09 p.m.

evenflow

Well, I know it's too early to even be writing this - but I am going to tempt fate. I am currently corresponding with a company about a job opportunity.

Funny thing is: the most exciting part of it all is that someone is looking at my resume. The fact that he has expressed some interest in me(plus said my resume was "well-written and impressive") is just a bonus. Icing on the pitiful cake I have made in this more-than-a year job search. I have been at my current job for 15 months now, and I was unemployed for 4 months prior to this. That's a total of 19 months I've been looking for a job. I don't really count this one, but only because it was handed to me by some friends of ours who happen to be neighbors with my manager. They said I would be a good candidate for the position, and since they feed my boss beer and great puerto rican food - he had no choice but to believe them. So he hired me. It also kept him from having to sift through the pile of 50 resumes on his desk in the hopes of finding someone to fill the position. In any case - I got the job due to luck and circumstances, but I've been looking for a job in healthcare ever since I became unemployed and despite the fact that I'm now working again.

The ironic part of this is the fact that both the person I am corresponding with and the position for which I am being "considered" are both familiar to me already. The recruiter is familiar to me because I've been emailing him monthly - each time I see a position that interests me (even Amanda feels like she's on a first name basis with him - she sees all the emails and hears me refer to him as if I've known him all my life... "I sent Kevin my resume again.." stuff like that). The position is familiar because it's one I've sent my resume for a couple of times with no response. Yeah - and now all of a sudden they're "interested". Whatever it takes, I'm just glad to be past the internet phase of the application process.

And I really need to be out of this position. I need to not be here much longer because I am constantly reminded of how low on the totem pole I am. But when someone's computer breaks, I sure get popular - like I'm a rock star... everyone wants to get a hold of me.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!