Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-28 - 11:39 a.m.

irony

This is it.

I am on the verge of leaving here. All that stands between me and a new job is the background check - as long as they don't find out about that double homicide, I'll be good to go.

I went for my third interview yesterday. Spent 2 hours with them (the person who would be my manager and his boss). It was really interesting. I got a chance to talk about some of the projects they're working on and see some of their files as well as the computer system. It was good to actually be able to see it. I have a much better concept now of what I'd be doing.

I felt a bit like a dog jumping through hoops, but I figure if I want it and that's what they want me to do, I'll jump. Three interviews: that's about 6 hours of being away from work, 2 weeks worth of waiting and being anxious, and the fact that my manager found out before I was ready to tell him. This better be worth it.

I already like my manager and his style - at least what I've seen of it. He told me my hours would be "8:30ish to 5:00ish". Those are his exact words. How great is that? Plus there's NO dealing with salesmen, NO travel, NO dealing with customers. Bonus.

Now I'm nervous. I'm in the in between stage. My current employer knows that I am trying to leave, and my potential employer has not extended a formal offer yet. Although they did ask me if I "was motivated" by the salary they're offering. After I scooped my jaw up off the floor, I replied simply, "Yes, like you wouldn't believe."

The ironic part of all this is: I got a 10% raise yesterday. It's too bad that the raise came at the same time as my third and final interview. It's also too bad that even after the raise, my new job is offering me a good deal more. More than I will ever make in this position.

So, one more weekend of waiting. Cross your fingers for me, and hold them that way until I tell you to stop.

Thanks.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!