Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-21 - 8:40 a.m.

the countdown

Wow. Time has never passed so quickly. I've had this whole week off; gotten the old job out of my system and preparing myself for the new one.

I've been semi-productive this week. The baby's room is painted. It's green mostly, with some yellow "accents" (two walls that face each other are yellow - it's not a square room... too much to explain. Use your imagination.)

I spent lots of time moving furniture, trash and other things up and down two flights of stairs. I'm tired.

Right now I'm downloading music from Soulseek. It's slow. I miss the T1 connection from work, and we're too poor right now to even think about DSL or cable. I've had lots of time to myself - something I truly appreciate when I get it. It gives me time to think. To sleep. To listen to music (something I used to cherish, but have forgotten about somewhere along the way...), to sing out loud while painting (Nine Inch Nails is superb painting music), and to clean.

When I have time to myself, I prefer to spend it by myself. I don't want to go visit people. I don't really even want to leave the house. There's something to be said about being comfortable with yourself, alone. It's similar to the feeling I have with Amanda, especially when we were dating. It occurred to us that we felt comfortable enough with each other, almost from the start, that we didn't feel like we always had to do or say something. We had those "uncomfortable silences", only ours were not uncomfortable. If we wanted to talk, we talked. If one of us wanted to do something, we'd mention it to the other. It was plain and simple. We're still that way. I'm still that way - even when I'm by myself.

So now the week is at its end. The baby's room has been painted, and it's waiting patiently for the furniture... and the baby. The computer room is now the computer-workout-craft room by necessity. And the guest room (next to the baby's room) is a complete mess - it was the recipient of all the stuff I had no idea what to do with. I've still got time though.

Today? I'm still not sure yet. My last day of vacation... hmmm. I think Dreamcatcher starts today. I really want to see that. I have been notified that I am not immune to mumps, and I need to go get a booster shot. There's a sales-meeting at the meeting hall 3 miles from my house - I could go make fun of the new guy for being such a sap for taking on this position...wait, I fell for it too... nevermind. I'll find something to do. Anything to keep from having to watch some "new" report on war and how we're doing. Not that I don't care about it, just that it's ridiculous. I'm not in a political mood right now.... I should stop here.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!