Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-30 - 7:55 a.m.

i'm already a bad father

I wrote "things I don't understand" a few weeks ago, but never finished the list. I figure I'll go ahead and post it, then just add to it as I think of things. It was one of those cases of driving home and having a whole list of things in my head, but when I went to write them all down I could only remember a few.

Things I don't understand:

~reading a novel, the newspaper, etc while driving.

~why Sheryl Crow and Kid Rock made a song together

~why anyone would listen to a song by Sheryl Crow and Kid Rock

~why my favorite radio station is apparently the only one I can't get on my office radio

~Dunkin Donuts sells SCONES??!!

In other news...

I've been thinking a lot about the whole baby thing. I'm nervous. What I'm most nervous about is not getting enough sleep. I know it sounds shallow at first, but let me explain: I'm utterly and completely useless if I don't get enough sleep. I'm terrified it will spiral out of control and spill into my work life. One day my manager will come over to my desk to ask me a question and he'll find me asleep on my keyboard. I'll be ready to go to bed at 6pm. I know lots of people go through this and they make it just fine. It's one of those things... in the back of my mind.

The other thing I guess I'm going to have to get used to is all the people who want to talk to you about your child. Amanda's sister brought her son over this past weekend and we went to a art/craft type of festival. I pushed Ethan around in his stroller and was amazed at all the comments and looks I got. I guess part of it could be the fact that he's so damn cute and part of it could be the fact that I look like I'm 18. This has been something that happens everytime we're out with them. People just come right up and start talking. And then there's people who find out you're having a baby and start in with all the questions. This wouldn't be so bad if they could just leave out all the judgement.

them: "What is the philosophy of the daycare you're looking at?"

me: "Uh, not sure."

them: "Well don't you think you ought to know before you decide on where to send your child?"

me: "Uh, sure."

them:"The daycare my child goes to believes in blah blah blah blah blah. And that's why they're the only daycare I would even think of sending my child to."

me: "And what's the cost per month?"

them: "$890"

me: "I can't afford that."

them: "If it matters to you what kind of care your child gets, you'll pay that much."

Well - in my opinion, if I were to pay $890 a month for my child to go to a really groovy daycare but we had to live in a box down by the stadium because I'd lose the house it's not the best for my child. I guess you've caught me, it must not matter at all to me....

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!