Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-02 - 7:59 a.m.

hello kc

Today is the day. I'm going to Kansas City to do training for the software we use. I'm excited about going, I'm excited about learning the database program. What I'm not excited about is getting there.

The problem? I have to fly. I had these thoughts over the weekend of how I should have just asked if I could drive. It's only about a day and a half... not too bad. But doing so would mean that I would miss being at work on Friday. As it stands now, I'll return home Thursday night. If I had driven, I wouldn't get home until late Friday night or even Saturday morning.

I never used to have a problem flying. I enjoyed it. I went to see Amanda in Chicago. I went all around the Southeast setting up Access databases for my old company. It was fun. Until the trip from HELL. That was to Oregon. I was fine the entire trip out there, it was the getting back that made me sick. I began feeling woozie around Denver, where we landed for a short (30 minute) stop before reboarding and continuing on. It was enough time for me to find some sprite and take a dramamine. It didn't help. I continued to get worse and worse - feeling like the plane was tumbling through the sky nose-over-tail. I couldn't get the feeling to stop. Poor Amanda had to hold my sweaty...no, my drenched hand. My shirt was soaked with sweat too, it was sticking to me and it looked like I was participating in my own private "wet t-shirt contest".

The sick feeling continued for weeks after we returned. I finally went to the doctor and he said I had vertigo. Apparently the doctor will diagnose vertigo when they just don't know what else is wrong. No inner ear problems. No virus. Nothing. Nothing they could detect, at least. So they said it must be vertigo - something was throwing my balance off and they think it had to do with the changes in elevation and pressure. In any case, it disappeared after about eight weeks.

What sucks is that I am still afraid of heights because of it. I know that it's because of the trip because I was never afraid of heights before. I used to enjoy heights, as a matter of fact. When I was younger I used to climb the highest trees I could find and scare the crap out of my parents. I loved to go to the top of tall buildings and look down at all the sights. Now? Well now I sometimes get dizzy when I look down from our deck. It's attached to the middle level of our house... maybe 10 or 15 feet off the ground.

Stupid Oregon.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!