Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-18 - 9:03 a.m.

wrecks and idiots

#1. Check it out. I thought I was the only one (OK, aside from Amanda) who had these thoughts.

EDIT: I was intending to link to the "Errant Parent" stories, but haven't mastered that talent yet. You'll just have to scroll down to it...

OK - figured it out. The link should now be working as intended...

#2. Even if you don't work directly with someone in your office - if you see them routinely, and they routinely smile and say hello, it's just fucking rude to not even acknowledge their presence. I go through the same thing almost every morning. There's this witch (she really looks like an asian witch, really) I see each morning and I smile and say "hello" or "good morning" and she consistently looks at me as though I've just propositioned her. WTF?

Tomorrow morning I'll smile and say, "Go to hell."

#3. My neighbor mowed my lawn the other day. I didn't ask him to. I did need to mow it. It's just that it's rained every day for like the past two weeks and in the few moments when it's not raining, I prefer to go do the necessaries: grocery shopping, furniture for the baby's room, etc. I got home the other day and he was beginning to mow his lawn, then I noticed he was right in front of my house. Now, I had left the office to go home - but I still had to work. I had told my bosses that I would log on at home and continue the current project from there. So I wasn't going to have time to mow - by the time my "work day" ended, it was supposed to start raining again. I walked over and thanked him, sort of embarassed. He said he did it because he started on his and sort of "fell" into mine as he was cutting his lawn on the diagonal. Then he made a comment about how he figured I just wasn't going to do it since the weekend had passed and it still wasn't cut. Well - I just didn't have the time... I still think it was nice of him to do, even if he didn't mean it as the nice gesture it seemed.

#4. Got in the car yesterday to come to work and the car wouldn't start. So I took the other car (the one Amanda's been driving) and came to work. Amanda just stayed home for the day. Spent an HOUR AND A HALF waiting for the idiots to put a new battery in. One of the main reasons it took so long? They didn't have the right tools to remove the old battery and put in the new one! WTF? How can you run a maintenance shop and not have the correct tools to replace a battery? Next time, I do it myself. Even I have the tools to do that.

#5. Number 4 above was the least of my car-related concerns, compared to the huge ass wreck we were in the middle of on Friday, but escaped without a scratch. Friday (the 13th, interesting huh?) was apparently rated as having "the highest number of wrecks in the metro area during rush hour in the past 10 years". Daunting. We were headed to dinner, it had just stopped raining, traffic was heavy. When it all of a sudden came to a stop, I slammed on my brakes. I don't have ABS, so I was thinking "pump! pump the fucking brakes you idiot" but my brain was not going to let my foot off the pedal, not even to pump. We came to a stop, finally, as one car went crashing into another on our left. Then on the right. As we were beginning to catch our breath, a third car came screeching from behind us on the left and managed to swerve in front of us, across our lane and into the traffic in the lane to the right of us. I thought it was very considerate of them to have their wreck and promptly get out of our lane. That way we could proceed to dinner. And we did.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!