Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-16 - 7:43 a.m.

two weeks

He's two weeks old today.

While that sounds like no time at all, I have this feeling like he's been around much longer than just two weeks. He's instantly become part of the family; and consequently, part of the routine. Each day now, I go home, get a wrap up of what's happened with him (generally it's sleep, eat, poop, sleep...), change into comfortable clothes and begin my part in the process of feeding and changing him.

Last night was no exception. I went home, started dinner, worked out, and then held and changed and fed my son. The changes in him in just two weeks are amazing. He's grown some, gotten more hair (although he's still fairly bald), and he's beginning to "notice" me. He was looking around - newly energetic because I had just changed an extra-poopy diaper - and suddenly his eyes locked on me. I won't pretend to know what he may or may not have been thinking, but he definitely saw that I was there. He gave me an intense stare, almost studying my eyes and face. Those are my new favorite times of the day now. It's in those times that I come close to truly understanding all the hopes parents have for their kids; as well as the disappointments when things don't go quite as planned. I wanted to explain things to him and tell him who I am and how Amanda and I have been waiting for him to come along. But he just stared at me.

And then he farted.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!