Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-07 - 7:33 a.m.

wrecks and windows

Two hours to go 18 miles. That was my afternoon yesterday on the way home from work.

I had a meeting yesterday from 3 until 4:30. I was already late leaving (I usually leave work at 4) so I was ready to get out of there. Traffic is tremendously different at 4:30 than at 4, it's an amazing thing how it changes. Nothing special - no wrecks, cops, etc. - on the highway, just your usual slow going because everyone wants to get where they're going fast and so they cut everyone else off and end up slowing the progress. That, plus the fact that it had rained earlier, and that's worse than a full moon- people just go crazy.

There's a mall at my exit from the highway and the traffic around it is typically bad. Twenty-five minutes of my two-hour drive were consumed in just getting past the mall. I finally made it to within half a mile of our house and discovered the road was closed due to an accident. So me and the 3200 others on the road turned around and sought out another route. Thinking I was smart, I chose the direction with the least amount of traffic. I wasn't exactly sure where I was going, but I figured I could get home anyway.

I came upon a second accident blocking the road.

I turned around again and headed back out to the major road, travelled another 12 miles and finally ended up at home. The ironic thing is that I went under the overpass where the first accident was and it was clear by then. I could have just parked it for 20 minutes and been on my way, but there' s something about actually being in motion that makes me feel like I'm getting somewhere. I'd rather drive 12 miles out of my way, even in heavy traffic, than be stuck in park with nowhere to go.

I got home in time to have just missed Zane's early evening feeding. That's one I typically do, partially because I enjoy it and partially because Amanda really needs a break by that point. So I settled for just holding him for a while after he was done. He snores.

This morning I discovered our home computer is missing a .dll file and so it won't start up. I located the (slightly) illegal copy of Windows I installed and tried to boot from it. Except I don't know the Administrator password which it requires for me to access what I need to. So I opted to just reinstall Windows - only I didn't have time to wait, so it's still running and now I'm at work. I'll finish it when I get home I guess. It's especially fitting that this happened now, seeing as how we just received our DSL modem the other day. I haven't had time to install that yet, and the way things are looking now I may be installing it on a brand new computer... not that we can afford one.

So I'm hoping that's the last of the run of bad luck for a while. I need something good to happen, like winning the lottery.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!