Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-13 - 7:49 a.m.

daddy time

I got some "Daddy and me" time last night. Amanda had been invited out with friends for dinner - she hasn't been out of the house in so long, she was really looking forward to it. So when I got home she got herself ready and left.

She had warned me that Zane was bound to be fussy throughout the evening; apparently he was not really having a good day. So I prepared myself for spending all my energy on him. Before Amanda left, she fed Zane while I cut my hair (it was much needed) and then I put him in his carseat. He generally likes to be in his carseat, but will sometimes start crying until we comfort him enough for him to go to sleep. This time though, he fell asleep almost right away - even before Amanda had left the house.

I prepared some dinner for myself, watched him sleep, watched some TV. He was due to eat again around 8:00 or 8:30. At 8:45 I started making a bottle. He was still sleeping! This may not sound as astounding to most people as it does to me - he's typically the one who tells us that he must eat now. Instead he just slept. What's more - he barely even stirred for two and a half hours. So I woke him, bottle in hand, ready to start the feeding. He ate without much trouble, and without much spitup (another small miracle).

When he was finished, we had some play time as he "discovered" my face, and tried to smile. I think he may have actually been trying to poop, but I'll take a smile any way I can get it. He made the funniest faces and it made me wonder what it would be like if I made those faces when I had gas or had to poop. He was hilarious, and he definitely responded to me and my laughing.

Meanwhile, the cats became interested in what was going on and came to investigate. Molly (who is definitely my dog, and very loyal to me) would growl and snap at the cats if they got too close to me and Zane. I thought it was great. We didn't really do anything special to "prepare" the dogs for Zane's arrival; they've just taken to it like it's all real normal. Molly is just as protective of Zane as she is of me. Dogs and babies are amazing.

I was nervous about being alone with Zane last night, but it all went fine. I think I would have even been ok if he had been fussy.

I'm getting used to him. And I think he's finally getting used to me...

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!