Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-18 - 7:51 a.m.

felons are your friend

OK - the novelty has definitely worn off.

When I arrived at work Friday morning I had a voice message from the KY Department of Corrections. This is odd for a number of reasons. First, I don't live in Kentucky. Second, I rarely get voicemails - or any calls for that matter. So when I had a voicemail I was a bit surprised, and when I found out who it was from I was shocked.

The voicemail states that an "offender is set to be released on August 29th" and they wanted to let me know since I was registered to receive such information. Only I'm not registered. It seems that the person who had my extension previously was registered with the Corrections Department to hear information changes regarding Victor Pryor who has such shining examples of humanity and morality as:

Offense Number 1

Indictment #: 98CR1363

Crime Date: 03/04/1998

Conviction Date: 02/16/1999

Conviction County: Jefferson Indictment Count: 003

KRS Code: 514.110

Felony Class: D

Sentence Length: 0003 years 00 months 00 days

Offense: RECEIVING STOLEN PROPERTY >$300

Offense Number 2

Indictment #: 98CR1363

Crime Date: 01/15/1998

Conviction Date: 02/16/1999

Conviction County: Jefferson Indictment Count: 001

KRS Code: 511.040

Felony Class: D

Sentence Length: 0005 years 00 months 00 days

Offense: BURGLARY IN THE 3RD DEGREE

Offense Number 3

Indictment #: 98CR1363

Crime Date: 03/04/1998

Conviction Date: 02/16/1999

Conviction County: Jefferson Indictment Count: 001

KRS Code: 218.A1415

Felony Class: D

Sentence Length: 0003 years 00 months 00 days

Offense: POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE I

Offense Number 4

Indictment #: 98CR1363

Crime Date: 01/15/1998

Conviction Date: 02/16/1999

Conviction County: Jefferson Indictment Count: 001

KRS Code: 512.020

Felony Class: D

Sentence Length: 0003 years 00 months 00 days

Offense: CRIMINAL MISCHIEF IN THE 1ST DEGREE

So the "VINE line" keeps calling me and leaving me these messages. I sometimes pick up the phone, and sometimes it goes to voicemail. At one point on Friday I answered the phone and the automated woman said she was going to be calling me every two hours. Without the PIN that was used to register my phone number there's little I could do to stop the calls.

I didn't really think much of it until I arrived at work this morning. The voicemail indicator light on my phone was shining through the darkness of the office when I got in today. I logged on to my computer to check email so I could see who was calling me. SIDE NOTE: Our phone system is integrated with our server and all voicemails show as a new email message in my inbox. I can see who called, what time, day, etc. I can also listen to and delete messages from my voicemail through my email system. It saves me the "hassle" of having to actually pick up the receiver and listen to voicemail the "old fashioned way" END SIDE NOTE.

My email was overflowing. Aside from all the KY calls, there were numerous messages from the email administrator letting me know my mailbox had exceeded its size limit.

I called the 800 number to let them know I was glad to be so informed, but I really needed to stop receiving the calls. They said they couldn't do anything about it without the PIN, but gave me another number to call. It's not an 800 number.

And I don't have a long distance code.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!