Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-11 - 7:55 a.m.

possible cheese

There's something about this time of year that puts me in a good mood. It's mainly the weather I think. Somehow the air seems cleaner, more crisp. It causes me to think that everything is OK now, just puts my mind at ease. The oppressive heat of the summer is dissipating, the sun seemingly retreating. This is the reason I moved up here; this does not happen in Florida. The forecast there is "unbelievable heat and humidity" for most of the year.

It also seems to me that lots of good things and milestones occur for me during this time of the year. It was 5 years ago that I met Amanda, around this time of the year, that stands out the most in my head. This is the time of year I decided to get the heck out of Florida for good. It's the time of year I started graduate school. A lot of good decisions are made in the fall. OK, I know it's not officially fall yet, but close enough. Especially if you go by the weather and not by a time and date. We're approaching the cool weather that will inevitably remind me of long talks with Amanda on my kick-ass balcony at the over-priced ($815 for 600 sq feet) apartment I used to live in. We'd sit outside, freezing, until we couldn't take it anymore and we'd have to head inside. We'd have been sitting there since sunset, which was always beautiful since the balcony faced the west, and my apartment was up on a hill. It's the same apartment that tested my ability to change a lightbulb, or, more precisely, to reach that lightbulb. The one where the electricity went out and we just sat around with candles until we were starving and had to go to the only restaurant with power so we could eat. The one where we had a water fight in the car wash - it was freezing that day.

It's also the time of year that I spent 4 months off work. I got too cocky for my own good and up and quit my job. It took all of 4 months for me to become employed again. That was a crappy, crappy time. But it holds some great memories too. I was at my lowest point in a long time, but managed to come out of it OK.

We found out Amanda was pregnant almost 1 year ago. And now we have our wonderful son who is a miracle and reminds me of it daily.

I'm amazed at how difficult it is to put my finger on the exact cause of my mood change at this time of year. I do not know what makes music sound better, the house look more beautiful, the days seem more precious. I do not know what makes me want to put on music and sit around talking with Amanda like we used to, for hours on end - in some effort to strengthen our connection. I do not know what makes me smile at more people as I pass them on the street and want to help everyone I can help. I have no idea what it is, but I really like it.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!