Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-21 - 8:03 a.m.

sick baby

A week of sick baby.

The daycare called me Monday to let me know Zane had a fever and was especially fussy. I left work early to go pick him up. Thank god I have an understanding manager now. I can't imagine what this week would have been like if I was still at my old job. I think my old manager (the one who, last time I saw him, got too drunk at a baby shower and left the party to discipline his son and then passed out at his house. OK, I don't know for a fact he passed out, but he never came back - he must have been way drunk because he didn't return to where the beer was... I digress) would have expected me to go get Zane and continue visiting customer sites to fix computers. I hate that man.

Tuesday Amanda took Zane to the doctor in the morning (it was determined that he has a sinus infection - poor guy), then I went home early again while Amanda went to work. Wednesday I just took the whole day off and spent it with my sick child. I'll say this: I give LOTS of credit to anyone who stays home with their kids. It's a lot of work - especially when they're sick. Not that I didn't enjoy being there with him and taking care of him. I just thought that I'd be able to get some things done - but time flies and before I knew it Amanda was home and the house was just as she'd left it that morning.

Yesterday was Amanda's turn to stay home with him. She apparently is much better at the whole staying home thing. She straightened out the computer room and made some phone calls and actually accomplished things. I stand in awe of her. And Zane's fever finally came down. I'm happy to report he's under the 100 degree mark. Hopefully he can go to daycare today, and Amanda can go to work.

So I've made it through this week sort of zombie-like, almost as if I'm in auto pilot mode. When I'm at home I'm too worried about Zane to rest, and when I'm at work I'm too worried about him to fully focus. Our executive assistant actually asked me Tuesday why I didn't seem too happy. I wanted to look at her and spit. My child has a sinus infection and a high fever, what the hell does she expect from me, cartwheels? If anyone has seen "A Mighty Wind" and remembers the Amber Cole character (from the "Public Relations is PR" group) that is our executive assistant. She's constantly spouting out absurd things that make no sense at all. Don't get me wrong - she's nice, and good at what she does (except when it comes to mail merges... how the hell do you spend your entire life being an executive assistant and not know how to do a mail merge?) - it's just that she's terribly lonely and needy.

She's also from Alabama - does that put it in perspective? OK - just kidding, no offense to anyone from Alabama intended.

All that to say it's been a heck of a week. Nothing terrible, just tiring. All is well with my happy little family, and I like it that way.

"...Thank God for the model trains, because if it wasn't for those they wouldn't have got the idea for the big trains."

-Amber Cole

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!