Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-26 - 9:56 a.m.

holiday eve

Although it's the day before Thanksgiving, also known as "Thanksgiving Eve", I sit here at my desk with a ton of work to do. I've been at work for two hours now and not one lick of work has actually been accomplished yet. I'm finding it difficult to concentrate. I've heard a rumor that we get to go home at noon today - so I don't really want to commit to a project that I might not be able to finish before then. And the prospect of creating yet another incredible MS Access database that will be truly appreciated to its fullest by no one but me really doesn't sound appealing.

I've spent the morning so far in the following way:

1. log on / open "work-like" files to make it appear I've done something.

2. get coffee

3. read random web pages / blogs

4. take Digital IQ Test, by the way I scored 134.

5. talk to the random people in the office who are all trying their best to avoid doing any work today.

So far, so good.

I have lots of ideas for entries, just don't necessarily have the time or skill to sit down and form them into logical written material.

Side note here: it appears that our network is trying to avoid doing any real work as well - the damn thing keeps getting lazy and shutting down. One of the files I opened for #1 above keeps giving me errors and telling me it has lost the connection to the network.End Side note.

Friday will be the big challenge. My department is "closed" - I put that in quotation marks because it's not truly closed, it's just that everyone but me will be on vacation. I opted to save my PTO for Christmas. I figure I'll arrive at work somewhere between 8 and 9, which sadly enough is what I consider "late". I'm really hoping that I will have the focus I need to accomplish a few house-keeping type things - like updating my databases and putting in some auto-links so that I don't have to update as many databases all the time. That's a f'd-up sentence.

Meanwhile - I should really go and see if I can do something today...

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!